A Tribute

Last Sunday one of my most loyal and trusted kitchen servants suffered a mortal wound  in a vehicle accident.  After heroic attempts at resuscitation by my devoted husband, we eventually saw that there was no hope.  After a two-day wake, the deceased was interred with a suitable service.  We remember with fondness his* faithful service over the past twenty-some years.   It is a comfort to know that his demise may bless some other household servant someday through organ donation.


Yeah, my crock pot bit the dust last Sunday.  Ds 12 hit it on the van and broke the knob off.  Dh took it apart, but there was no way to fix the piece that had broken, plus the heating wires were old and brittle and one broke when he tried to move it. So dh saved some springs that he thought might be useful one day, and the remains sat on top of the freezer for a couple days.  Then we set it out for the trash man. 


So does anyone have recommendations for a new crock pot?  I want a big one, and I want a tough one, because I take it to church every week, plus I use it frequently in between Sundays.  I am missing it.


     *gender was determined by sam , who says all crock pots are male.  Don’t ask me why! 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Tribute

  1. fwren says:

    Since my crockpot is at least as old as your dearly beloved deceased one, I have no recommendations, but do recommend you get one ~

  2. I have 2 Rival 6 quart crockpots. They were around $30 at walmart. What I love about them is there are 2 Low settings(8 and 10 hours) and 2 High settings(4 and 6 hours). When the time is up on any of those settings it automatically goes to “warm” (and it therefore stops cooking) which is great if you happen to not be home or forget about it like I frequently do  The warm setting is also great for dips and stuff. I believe they both came with those covers that’s supposed to keep it warm if you’re taking it somewhere. I’ve never used them so I can’t say how well they work. Perhaps I need to get out more lol.
    Blessings,
    Renee

  3. LOL!  Yeah, I’ve heard Rival’s are pretty good.  We have one but rarely use it. 

  4. BooksForMe says:

    I wish I could find an 8 quart slow cooker.  If you find one in your searching, be sure to share.  Happy Hunting!

  5. sunshine1939 says:

    Mine bit the dust also. I think it was the Rival brand and a 6qt. with removable crock. That’s what I would get again, nice for potlucks and for soup. Did every one get well at your house?  Hope you find one soon!!!!

  6. bubston says:

    Love your anology!

  7. I saw you at a friend’s site, so I popped over.  About the crock pot being male, that is funny.  I was told they are female.  I think ours is a westinghouse or something like that.  Got it as a gift.  I once wrote a eulogy for our garage door remote.  But no parts were saved.Kim

Leave a Reply

