A Series of Chilly Events

The past couple of days my daughter has been printing wedding programs.  And the printer wasn’t cooperating–neither printer was cooperating.  (Does this sound familiar?  Does anyone else in the world have all the printer struggles we do?)  Anyway, among all the other challenges, she ran out of paper.  Since I needed to go to the bank anyway, I thought I would quickly run out and buy paper at the same time.  I grabbed coat and boots and headed out.


Groan!  The van was buried under a foot of snow and someone had absconded with the broom we usually keep outside the door to brush snow off vehicles.  I found a long stick and swiped it across the windshield and windows, trying to knock off as much snow as I could.  Stepping gingerly, since the snow was just about even with my boot-tops, I walked around to clear the other side.  I should start the van and maybe get some heat going–yes, good idea–I opened the door.  Avalanche!  Brushed snow off the seat and myself, turned on the windshield wipers to clear the rest of the snow I couldn’t reach.   Ah, well, good enough–I’m not going far.


I got to the computer store, took the paper to the counter, realized that I had exactly one dollar in my wallet (where does my money go?) decided that I wasn’t going to use a check or credit card for $4, so I told them I would be back.  Noticed that my headlights were completely covered with snow, so I kicked those off, stepping in snow well past my boot-tops in the process. 


Next, the bank.  I pulled up to the drive-up and my window was frozen shut, so I carefully juggled the little tube thing through the tiny sliver I was able to open my door without crashing into the brick pillar, and eventually managed to make my deposit and get some cash.  Driving away from the bank, I forgot that under the snow was a street which was very likely slick.  I slid right out into a busy street (which fortunately had no traffic close to the intersection at that moment) anti-lock brakes growling viciously all the way. 


By the time I had gone  back to the store and purchased my paper, then driven carefully home, I couldn’t feel my fingers, and they were completely white.  And yes, I was wearing gloves, but I have a lot of trouble with this.  Anyway, I was feling rather grumpy and grumbling that I really enjoy snow the most when there is a nice double-pane glass between it and me.  But as I drove in the driveway, I saw our willow tree, and I softened a bit.  Isn’t it lovely outlined in snow?


 


willow snow


And I can’t see it from the house window.  So yes, it was good to get out.      Really.     I think.


However, tonight, I will be IN.  On the other side of the glass. 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Series of Chilly Events

  1. cereneone says:

    What an amazing tree.  Glad you made it back home safely.

  2. nancyclark says:

    Your “snow” pictures are awesome.  This GA girl enjoyed them immensely. 

  3. fwren says:

    Lovely photo, but I sure do worry about your knees when you get out ~ glad you’re back in again.  Hope we can all get there in a couple weeks!

  4. mom1945 says:

    Whew! You did have “one of those days” Glad you made it home safely. Sounds like you have a couple busy weeks ahead!

  5. CHOBLIT says:

    Sounds like you had a fight with the snow….and won!  Thinking of you as you finish up all the wedding plans….and the Big Day is approaching! 

  6. ElizabethDNB says:

    The pictures are so pretty! 
    Gosh that is so different then any weather I have ever seen.  It seems so intimidating.  I am praying for your safety.

  7. ROBINEGGS says:

    Oh, my!  Makes me so grateful for rainy CA!  May all your wedding hitches (like running out of computer paper) be behind you and I pray the time leading up to the wedding will run smoothly!

  8. BooksForMe says:

    The tree and snow are so awesome.  I think the beauty of snow is our compensation for its difficulties.  Works for me!

Leave a comment