Spiritual Vagabonds?

An excerpt from this book:



Once you leave the place God has chosen for you, your root system begins to dwarf.  The next time it will be easier for you to flee from adversity because you have been careful not to root yourself deeply.  You end up coming to the place where you have little or no strength to endure hardship or persecution.


You then become a spiritual vagabond, wandering from place to place, suspicious and afraid that others will mistreat you.  Crippled and hindered in your abilitiy to produce true spiritual fruit, you struggle in a self-centered life, eating the remains of the fruit of others.


Thought-provoking, yes?  What do you think?  True??  Or not??

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spiritual Vagabonds?

  1. True? VERY!!
    I could name names to prove my point if you’d like, but I shan’t!

  2. BooksForMe says:

    I think there’s a lot of truth to that!  Sounds like a good book.

  3. cerwindoris says:

    Thought-provoking, for sure, and so very true.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hmmmm!! Is that a message to a selected group, or what?

  5. True (it’s thought-provoking); true the content, as well.  Now I need to read the entire book.

  6. CHOBLIT says:

    I have a question first…Is our root system in a place or in God?  If I am deeply rooted in God, I can go anywhere He leads.  Lord, continue to grow my roots (faith) in You!

  7. joy4jesus424 says:

    Before reading any of the comments, I was going thru the similar thought-process as choblit. If our root system isn’t Jesus Christ than no matter where we are, it won’t work. “Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit.” If our root sytem is Jesus Christ, we won’t begin to dwarf no matter our circumstances or adversity, etc. Hardship & persecution are endured when Jesus Christ fills us with the Holy Spirit. We should not be rooting ourselves in a place but in Christ.

  8. fwren says:

    Isn’t the “place God has chosen for us” in Him? 

  9. Anonymous says:

    Mmmm, it sounds like it is talking about marriage… (weird) –*blinks*–

  10. homefire says:

    Lael!!  Where have you been, girl?  Methinks you have marriage on the brain.   
    I had some of the same thoughts as have been expressed, but this passage struck me especially since I had just had an in-person discussion on something similar.  The idea of enduring persecution rather than fleeing it had come up, so I found this an interesting thought.

Leave a Reply

