January Bills

The Bills
(Apologies to Poe)








See the desk piled high with bills-
Household bills!
What a lot of anguish their arrival on me spills!
How they rustle, rustle, rustle,
As I shuffle them around!
After all the fuss and bustle,
Now I really have to hustle
To make sure the cash is found.
For it’s pay, pay, pay,
In a very constant way,
All utilities and charge cards that have financed all our thrills
In the bills, bills, bills, bills, bills, bills, bills
The demanding, the commanding of the bills.


 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to January Bills

  1. Anonymous says:

    I would retitle this: “The I Want To Stress You Out Poem.” 

  2. Anonymous says:

    Good one!!  Thankfully this Christmas I did not have to go into debt, which is good considering I have a wedding to pay for now!

  3. fwren says:

    Ha!  I wonder what kind of bills you could be having right now ~ wedding bells bills? 

  4. sparrow59 says:

    Outstanding job!!  I have a feeling Poe would smile ….

  5. just passing through. ha, liked the ‘bills’. 

  6. nancyclark says:

    I was dealing with bills all afternoon so I really can appreciate your poem.

  7. HA HA!  I love the original of this poem just for the word “tintinnabulation.” 

  8. kcwray says:

    Great!!!   Did ou give this one to Janice?

  9. lglavy says:

    LOL!  I think Poe would be honored.

  10. mamaglop says:

    Cute!  Did you make that up.

  11. homefire says:

    Yup.  That’s what I did instead of entering receipts in Quicken, like I was supposed to be doing. 

Leave a Reply

