Momentous Moment

 


My daughter and I cut out her wedding dress today.  


 


What do you mean, so what?  Isn’t that enough?  It makes me get all teary-eyed if I think about it much.  It’s weird how some days I am so matter-of-fact about it, and other days I think, “Wait a minute—WHOA!!   Hold on, slow down, we can’t be there yet!” 


And for those of you who have wee little ones–just you wait and see!  Yes, some days last forever, but the years go by in the twinkling of an eye!


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Momentous Moment

  1. samcgarber says:

    So time travel exists – this is the first time I’m congratulating you – I hope the wedding is wonderful – the marraige is beautiful – and the (grand)children are many and happy and righteous – mazel tov!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Ooo… I hope you can fix it.  My dad did that to one of my new shirts at christmas last year, but my dear mother was able patch it.

  3. fwren says:

    What a special day ~ every day will be special during the preparation for her wedding.  Try not to let the tears fall on the fabric ~ just enjoy and treasure each moment ~

  4. CaliRosie says:

    I can only imagine how fast time must fly…. four months seems just like a wink already for me. 😀 Just have a really enjoyable time these last few months with your oldest daughter. Make memories of laughs and good moments for you both to remember for a lifetime! 🙂

  5. Wow. You are brave.  I am a haphazard sewer.   Wedding dress? WAAAH! All too soon for me. 

  6. homefire says:

    Branton, you are such a spaz.   
    And we are enjoying it, really we are.  I don’t have these maudlin moments often.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I am kind of feeling like you are right now…. (about the slowing down part, not the dress!!)

  8. Anonymous says:

    My daughter has wanted me to go look at wedding dresses with her, but I’ve asked to hold off until after the holidays.  She still has months to go before her wedding in May.  What month will your daughter get married?

  9. i still remember my mom cooking me chicken & rice and then joining me on her bed as we made the little rice bags to hand out along w/ the wedding favors 2 days before my wedding :).  your daughter is so blessed to have you with her to celebrate in this joyous time in her life!
    your post about “one of those days” cracked me up!  i had one of those days last week – i was beside myself all day long!
    ryc: i feel your pain – homeschooling can be a stinker at times!
    big hugs.

Leave a Reply

