Statesmen

I haven’t paid a lot of attention to politics in my life, simply because government in general rather bores me, but somehow this year, the whole thing seems to be reaching critical mass.  I thought this quote was apropos.



A politician is a man who thinks of the next election; while the statesman thinks of the next generation.


-James Freeman Clarke, preacher and author  (1810-1888)


May God give us a statesman!


 


***This blog makes no attempt to be politically correct.  If this were a politically correct blog, the above quote would have been altered to reflect gender neutrality.  If you don’t like it, toooo bad!

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Statesmen

  1. Anonymous says:

    Your disclaimer is funny!!

  2. mamaglop says:

    I’ve been thinking for years we are in a war for the survival of the American culture and our freedom in a larger war for the Christian worldview.  I’ve been hoping someone would arise with the gifts of Winston Churchill to frame the debate and mobilize Americans to bring about a return, through their vote,of this government to what it was intended to be.

  3. dotmarie says:

    good I hate political correct-ness.

  4. BooksForMe says:

    Great quote! (And, great footnote! LOL)

  5. Well, I for one am so totally offended by the lack of gender neutrality that I’ll have to stand up and clap.  So there!True words, though. We seem to live in a generation where the thought of common good is eclipsed by “What can I get out of it?”

  6. Anonymous says:

    I like that quote..I agree with you, I hope we get a statesman also.

  7. I am totally shocked that you have become politically incorrect <giggle,snort>  You go girl!!
    Blessings,
    Renee

Leave a Reply

