Get Smart, Feed People

I have discovered a brand-new way to rationalize playing on the computer.  Thanks to BooksForMe I can now feed the starving millions while I improve my brain power.                                             


                                                   Free Rice      


Click on this to play a very fun vocabulary game.  For every correct answer, the advertisers donate ten grains of rice to United Nations to fight world hunger.  (Well, at least that’s what they say.  I’m not sure who’s in charge of counting all those grains of rice, but I just donated over 800….)


Anyway, it adjusts automatically.  When you miss them, it goes down a level, when you get them right, it increases the difficulty.  I managed to hit level 47 once, but most of the time I couldn’t get past 45.  It’s addicting, and I really should have written down all those words I learned. 


Give it a shot–you may learn something!  And even if you don’t, hopefully you’ll donate a dab of food.


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Get Smart, Feed People

  1. Anonymous says:

    What a cool way to help others.  I will check this out for sure!

  2. Isn’t that fun? And addicting!!! I’ve had that game for a couple of months. I can’t believe I didn’t post it lol. I LOVE words. They’re so much fun. I love unusual words you don’t hear a lot. Now that Lexie is taking biology and chemistry she finally sees a reason for the Greek and Latin word roots we used to do in homeschool
    Blessings,
    Renee

  3. I think I could play this for hours. But, I have to make Thanksgiving cookies. 

  4. fwren says:

    Okay, I just tried it quickly ~ in a hurry.  Donated 100 grains of rice and got to level 42 ~ not bad for a two-minute trial.  Will have to try it again when I have more time.  Will 100 grains of rice do any good at all?

Leave a Reply

