Global Warming

The average temperature today is six or seven tenths of a degree Celsius (about 1.2 degree Fahrenheit) warmer than it was a hundred years ago.  Now admittedly, some years the average goes down, and some areas of the earth have actually cooled during that time, but overall, the earth is a bit warmer than it used to be. 


So, is this a problem?  If so, is it caused by man and his pollutants, or is it just a natural trend that will probably reverse itself over the next hundred years?  What do you think?


And why am I sitting here writing when I should be preparing for houseguests?  Well, now, there’s another good question.    My son read about global warming this morning in his science lesson, and I got curious, so I did a bit of research.  Anybody have any thoughts on it?

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Global Warming

  1. Anonymous says:

    Haha, I could go on and on about global warming, but I won’t.  But I will say this… I think today’s scientists are freaking out over nothing.

  2. PolkaDotAlot says:

    I am here to comment on “And why am I sitting here writing when I should be preparing for houseguests?” Because I am sitting here with a few things that need my attention and yet here I am in xanga world reading this!  Good to know I am not the only one who gets on here when I should be elsewhere! 🙂

  3. mamaglop says:

    I think the “crisis” has been oversold because people think they can profit from it, either materially or politically.  I suppose some of it might be from human contributions, but I think more is a natural cycle.  There was concern about the approaching “ice age” when I was in highschool.  I wish real science would prevail.

  4. fwren says:

    Perhaps there is global warming, but if time lasts, there may also be global cooling, then more global warming ~ who knows?  I think too they have made a huge deal over something that occurs naturally by God’s hand.  People panic because they do not trust God to be in control ~ they want to control everything themselves, even the temperature of the planet, for cryin’ out loud!

  5. homefire says:

    By the way, mamaglop, according to some sites I checked, global warming is supposed to cause that coming ice age.  I haven’t figured out exactly how that works  but I figured it wasn’t really worth my time to try!
    What’s interesting to me is that people just accept what they are fed by the media.  The news says there is global warming, so they swallow it whole.  We talked to a man recently who just threw in into the conversation as fact:  “But now, with this global warming, the ice fishing just isn’t what it used to be.”  Uh-huh.  Right.  That one degree makes ALL the difference.    And he has no idea he’s being brainwashed.

  6. dotmarie says:

    The media is overrated. It’s just like a big commercial…pushing their own thing no matter what…

  7. Sure I believe in global warming!! Revelation 20:9-15. When the trumpet of the Lord shall sound and time will be no more…..
    Renee

  8. fwren says:

    Yes, like Renee says, in the future there IS going to be a major global warming!

Leave a Reply

