Maidservants

A thoughtful post from my friend DaiseyAnne made me remember some great advice I’ve received over the years from  Laine  So this is inspired by and dedicated to those ladies.



She riseth also while it is yet night, and giveth meat to her household, and a portion to her maidens.   Prov 31:15


While reading about this legendary woman, do you latch onto that verse?  (Maidens??  Ah-ha!  So she had servants.  Well, no wonder she could accomplish so much!  Wouldn’t that make life easier?)


Of course, I have maidservants, too.  And you probably do, too.  Just this week, I looked around with great satisfaction and realized that I had five maidservants working at once, making dinner and doing my laundry:  the crock pot, the bread machine, the iced tea maker, the washer and dryer.  And of course, that’s not even counting the pump that brings my water right to the house, the electric wires that keep our lamps always trimmed and ready, and I’m sure there are numerous other things that I’m forgetting.  When you stop and think about how very little effort it actually takes to run a household, compared to previous centuries, doesn’t it just make you thankful?


And then I also have to wonder why I ever have trouble keeping up.  Sigh.  I guess a pioneer woman, I ain’t.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Maidservants

  1. fwren says:

    LOL!  A pioneer I ain’t either!    Never “latched on” to that “maidens” bit before ~ of course, that explains it! 

  2. Great post!  I never thought of my appliances as being my maidservants, but hey, you really got a point there!  They do so much to help us out! 

  3. You know, the things we have to do would never even have been thought of to some previous women.  We have all the cooking, cleaning, gardening, shopping, educating, etc.  Our houses are the sizes of mansions of long ago. We have to drive, drive, drive, answer the phone, etc.  I’ve thought about this a lot.  Yes, I’ve got my “servants” to help me (praise God!), but instead of giving me more time for myself, the time they save has been filled in other ways.Blah, I’m sounding whiney.  I’m not, really. Just sleepy and procrastinating on my last 500 words of my story for tonight.

  4. BooksForMe says:

    Along the lines of what TeacherPerson was saying, I heard Dr. Dobson years ago talking about all of our time-saving tools.  He said that they actually make us think we have more time, so we end up busier than ever.  I have long held a theory that our busy-ness is really one of Satan’s most effective tools against our selves, our families, and our church.  I am still working on understanding how to surrender that need to be busy to God.The qualities of the Proverbs woman that always strikes me as most daunting are that She opens her mouth with wisdom, And on her tongue is the law of kindness…And does not eat the bread of idleness…a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.”I love how you compare her kitchen tools to hand-maidens.  Brilliant!  I so dislike whenever I hear women say, “Yeah, BUT she had maids!”    That takes all the air of that excuse!  LOL

  5. joy4jesus424 says:

    I have long held a theory that our busy-ness is really one of Satan’s most effective tools against our selves, our families, and our church. -from BooksForMe
    I’ve been preaching that same thing for years!

  6. homefire says:

    Yeah, TP, instead of shopping, she just had to can, dry, pickle, and otherwise preserve everything she had grown in her huge garden, and grind her own sausage, and kill and pluck her own chickens.    And btw, Mary, you don’t have to answer the phone.  I’ll bet you have a maiden for that, too. 
    You are right, though, that we have raised our standards of cleanliness to levels that would have been simply unimaginable at one time, especially in the laundry department.  We wash things that don’t look or smell dirty, just because they’ve been worn. 
    And you are all SO right that our time gets filled up with other things.  Have you ever just stayed in your own home with your own family all week long?  With no computer?  Think about how much that would change your life.  If I had no computer and no books (which pioneer women often didn’t,) I can’t imagine how much time I would have!
    Not eating the bread of idleness…yeah that’s the one that challenges me, too.  bigtime.

  7. ShineOn1983 says:

    Good point. I have recently admitted to the fact that my lack of time and clean house is my own fault and could be fixed:) IF I would just buckle down:)

  8. samcgarber says:

    the bread machine, the iced tea maker, the washer and dryer – they may be “maid” servants – but I have to say – I think the crock pot is more of a “man” servant…

  9. Anonymous says:

    Many good points there!  “Not eating the bread of idleness” has been convicting me, too.
    RYC:  I remember singing “My Country ‘Tis of Thee” in school, too, along with “America” and other patriotic songs.  I’m sure that’s seen as too nationalistic now or something like.

  10. I always snickered when women would bemoan the fact that this woman had servants. Look at how easy our lives are now!! I always considered myself organized. I think I just don’t USE my time wisely. I never could figure out how the German Baptist women could do so much from scratch cooking, baking,  the laundry, their homes were always so clean and picked up, gardening, canning, quilting, all the family sewing and whew the list goes on!! I think I have too much of a one-track mind. If I was going to sew, I spent the whole day sewing while the house fell apart and meals didn’t get cooked. I think too a lot helps when you grow up learning to manage all those things at once. Some of my fondest memories are of all those dear ladies who took a young woman who didn’t really know how to cook(let alone from scratch!), sew or train up her children, under their wing and so patiently taught me by their good example and wise advice. They had many sewings for me so I would have clothes(I didn’t even own a sewing maching lol) They taught me to do the handwork. Sometimes I felt stupid watching them whiz through those dresses and I hadn’t a clue what they were doing. Yet no one ever made me feel inadequate. I’m sure they never knew how much time I spent watching them. Their lives, their work, their attitudes. No, I never thought anyone was “perfect” but I surely was very blessed by by the lives I watched and I miss them a lot!
    Blessings,
    Renee

  11. I know why I don’t keep up….when all my “maids” are busy humming, clinking, groaning and chugging I just want to sit down and do something alot more fun then working.  I get easily distracted by other things I would rather be doing.

  12. Yea, I got a Mac, its a lot different as far as operating it but I think I’ve subdued most of it now. I would recommend one if you don’t mind relearning how to run an operating system. They are also much less subseptable to viruses and spyware.The new look is good, you could use a personal photo though… Ya’ll come down sometime!Ty

  13. Anonymous says:

    RYC:  I only just now caught your comment on my “public school” post.  I agree with you about the racism issue.  I’ve actually come across whites being racist here, which really surprised me because West Virginia was created due to the people in this area not supporting slavery during the Civil War.  I think much of the problem is due to the fact that people naturally segregate themselves and don’t have much contact with people who are different from them.

  14. mamaglop says:

    Yeah, I noticed that about the maidservants, but I never thought about modern conveniences being our maidservants.  I don’t know about you, but I haven’t realized a corresponding gain in leisure time when I use one of them.

Leave a Reply

