Sunrise, Sunset

Things are finally looking up.   A word to the wise–don’t mess with xanga themes until you are prepared to spend some time on it.  They certainly don’t have all the bugs worked out yet.  On the other hand, it’s sort of fun, if you’re into that stuff. 


I have been trying to decide whether I am excited or just feel old.  Do I really have a daughter old enough to get married?  Apparently so.  Hard to believe.  On one hand, I am sad because her childhood is over, on the other hand I am truly delighted for them, and I couldn’t ask for a better son-in-law.  And on the other hand…there is no other hand! 


Sunrise, sunset…

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunrise, Sunset

  1. BooksForMe says:

    Congratulations to you all! When is your daughter getting married?

  2. homefire says:

    In February.  This will be a busy winter! 

  3. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations to all of you! Praying that all goes well with the planning and preparation! May the Lord bless the happy couple!

  4. NO! We are NOT old enough!lol Our little girls are still in braids, dresses, white anklets and black mary jane’s Congratulations to your dear daughter

    Where are you going my little one, little one?
    Little dirndls and petticoats, where have you gone?
    Turn around, and you’re two.
    Turn around, and you’re four.
    Turn around, and you’re a young woman going out of the door.

    There’s another verse to that song but I can’t remember it. My mother used to sing it all the time. I never understood why it made her cry. Now I do.

    Blessings,
    Renee

  5. cereneone says:

    Congrats! My DD is fast approaching that age. Sigh. She is 14 and not really paying any attention to the guys yet. PTL! But I know there will come a day soon….

  6. Anonymous says:

    RYC: Oh, motherhood is definitely the most challenging job! I’ve worked in an office before, with lawyers and case workers doing “important” stuff; but it doesn’t measure up to being a parent in terms of importance and and fulfillment.

  7. CHOBLIT says:

    Congratulations….I had a hunch this might be the exciting family news…..exciting, indeed!! Enjoy planning & preparing…don’t look @ the whole picture…it can be overwhelming, just one day at a time and you’ll do fine!!!

  8. ElizabethDNB says:

    Thanks for the warning, because I was thinking about it

  9. ROBINEGGS says:

    Eeeeks! February?!! You will have to hustle, BUT….it can be done. We gave weddings for 4 daughters and that is all the time we had…..3 months to be ready! CONGRATULATIONS to each of you….such happy days will follow!!

  10. Anonymous says:

    How old is old enough to get married??? (that one really is confusing!!– if you have the answer please, please tell me!!)

  11. serviceofone says:

    RYC: Thank you!!

    Congrats to you!!

  12. joy4jesus424 says:

    Wellllll…since you and I are only 10 days apart in age, I can definitely say you are NOT old enough to have a daughter getting married! I guess that wasn’t the question though, was it? Like celtic said, how old is old enough for a girl to get married…it most certainly would depend on the circumstances, the maturity level of both and who the guy is…God bless your next few months.

  13. fwren says:

    This is gonna be so much fun for you all ~ yell if you need help ~ I’d love an excuse to come up! Congratulations ~

  14. lglavy says:

    Congrats! I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised how neat this next step in your lives will be. Once you get over the shock of it all, married children are a real blessing! Get a book and write things down…makes the planning much simpler if all the jotted notes are in one place!
    Blessings to you all!
    Lisa

  15. CaliRosie says:

    Yaay! I’m so excited for you and your family! It’s SO fun and exciting! My mom would have lots of good things to share if you need some! 🙂 The best thing that we experienced it seemed, was that mother did a lot of the keeping track of things and recording, and I helped do most of the designing and ‘picking’. 😀 We had a fun time, and best of all is the memories of the things we did as we was planning a wedding! 😀

  16. lglavy says:

    and NOW I want to go see Fiddler again!

  17. mamaglop says:

    So, how old is this daughter?  Congratulations to the families.  It is good you are happy with her choice.

Leave a Reply

