Is that necessary?

Have you ever heard this question in regard to some personal choice? For instance:




So you homeschool your children—do you really think that’s necessary? I know a lot of kids who go to public school who are on fire for the Lord, and they have such a great witness to the kids who aren’t Christians!



You know that taking medication for depression is simply not necessary. All it does is dull your moods—it won’t help the real problem at all. You just need to get right with God.


It’s not necessary to say whether there was or was not a literal six-day creation.  The Bible says that to God, a thousand years is like a day, so what does it matter whether it was a day as we know it, or some longer period of time?  What’s important is that we realize that God is the one who did it!



You don’t have a TV? But how in the world do you keep up on things? And there are so many great programs—I learn all kinds of things! I mean, yeah, there’s a lot of junk, too, but you don’t have to watch that stuff.  It’s not necessary to get rid of your TV—just use some discernment and self-control.



You want to wear a head covering? But that’s not even what Paul meant! He was talking to those people in Corinth, and it doesn’t have anything to do with us! Surely that sort of thing isn’t necessary for people today!



Oh, you eat organic food? But really, that isn’t necessary, is it? I mean, it costs so much, and who knows whether it’s really any better than the stuff that isn’t labeled organic? Besides, I’ve been eating normal food all my life, and look how healthy I am!



So many things, depending on who you talk to, are “not necessary.”




Being a missionary to a foreign country is “not necessary.” Just be a good witness to the people you meet here. After all, somebody has to stay here and take care of things.



Going to a doctor is “not necessary.” God is the great Healer—if He wants you to get well, you will.



Being part of a church is “not necessary.” Most churches are corrupt, and none of them are perfect, so just worship with your own family at home.



It’s “not necessary” to go to a hospital to have a baby. You aren’t sick, are you? Having a baby is a perfectly normal event, so why subject that tiny newborn to all the germs they will encounter in a hospital?



Exercise is “not necessary.” After all, the Bible says it’s not worth much compared to godliness.



And on and on.



My question is: Why the focus on necessity? In our Christian walk, we face many decisions. We have to evaluate each one separately in light of Scripture, and then after that, make the choice according to our own needs and challenges. Sometimes we are convicted that a certain decision is the right answer for our family. Sometimes it comes down to simply a preference, nothing more.



All of the above arguments are ones I have heard from various sources. Some of them I agree with, some I don’t. And the huge loophole in all of them is that even if it’s NOT necessary…
so what???  If I choose to do it, it’s my choice.



Do we, as a rule, do only the things that are necessary? Of course not! It’s not necessary to kiss my children goodnight or to take them to the library. But I do.  It’s not necessary for me to fix my husband coffee in the morning, but I try to do it sometimes.  It’s not necessary for me to take a meal to the family with a new baby. But it’s sure a nice thing to do. Those are all things that I do out of love, not necessity. And I hope that they will benefit those people.



We live by grace, not law. And because of grace, we are free to make good choices. Don’t ever let someone talk you out of the choice you feel is right with the argument that “It’s not necessary.”


I don’t want to do only what is necessary,  or “just enough to get by”—I want to make choices that please my Lord and glorify Him!



About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Is that necessary?

  1. sparrow59 says:

    This is such an excellent, thoughtful post!  Too many times I think our “choices” are determined by what other people would think.  And too many times we miss opportunities for “golden moments” by being swayed by public opinion.  I’m with you, my friend.  I never did, and probably never will live my life entirely inside the lines. 

  2. cereneone says:

    I say each person should follow the path they are set upon by God. He will deem what is necessary for YOU. People should just learn to respect other peoples beliefs and not force their own upon you. Now I am not saying don’t witness. But, you can witness by your life and how you live it.

  3. sunshine1939 says:

    Wonderful post! We each have to make our own choices and do what we feel our heart is telling us to do.  Bless  you for saying how you feel!!!!! 

  4. fwren says:

    I, too, want to please my Lord ~ even if I don’t think something is “necessary” ~ if if pleases HIM, then I want to do it.  The trick is figuring out what pleases Him sometimes ~

  5. dotmarie says:

    great post!!
    do you want me to go though and choose which “necessary” arguments I agree with??? lol…j/k I won’t get anyone started…

  6. joy4jesus424 says:

    Amen…God’s choices for me might be different than His choices for others; it’s awesome that we can actively live out that greatest commandment when we accept and love others for their desire to glorify God the way He is calling them. Good thoughts…
    How’s life?

  7. PolkaDotAlot says:

    I enjoyed your post!  I don’t always have a great comment so I tend to pass through…but after reading this my mind went to a few years ago my husband & I were trying to decide whether or not to send our daughter to Kindergarten early (she would turn 5 late in Dec).  We knew everyone had different opinions on this and most times it is good to wait but we prayed and felt this was the right thing for her & us.  So far it has been one of the better decisions we have made and we will keep our faith in Him for the future!  But of course during that year I would listen to parents talking on this subject and say things right in front of me downgrading doing this very thing and how they did not agree with it at all and I would sit there listening and thinking “how can you say all this when I am doing this very thing?  Do you not even care about my thoughts on this?”  I am so thankful for God who was and still is teaching me that having grace towards someone “who isn’t walking in my shoes” goes alot farther than carrying upset feelings.   Thanks for your post and for stopping by my site & commenting.   

  8. BooksForMe says:

    This is a great post!

  9. mamaglop says:

    Interesting post.  I am intrigued if you are one who takes meds and eats organically…  do you cover your head in church?

  10. Grace4theday says:

    Well said, Amen :sunny:

  11. Anonymous says:

    Sigh…..many choices, many opinions, but it’s the Lord I serve, and I want to be in His will whether friends or family agree or not. Gal 1:10 For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

  12. livinonfaith says:

    Fire on. I appreciate this so much. Do you care if I share it with several?! :fun: Why in the world is it so easy to start thinking in those necessary terms? Like you said, WHO CARE? I want to be smack dab next to Jesus because of the draw of Love, not because there is some chain attatching me by force (which inevitably we will tug against.)

  13. samcgarber says:

    I could comment – (not that it’s necessary . . . of course : ))  great thoughts here – really great thoughts

Leave a Reply

