A Ramble Through My Brain


The Crazy Makers is a fascinating book.  I haven’t read very far yet, but it is already making me want to totally change our family’s eating habits.  It makes you think twice about the question, “Would you like fries with that?”  


With all the things that have been learned about the way the brain grows, it’s incredible that medical professionals aren’t screaming from the rooftops that we need to be more careful about what we feed our children!  No wonder kids have low attention spans, aggressive behavior, ADD, etc.  Why are we surprised at that, when we feed them food that doesn’t allow their brains to develop right?  Why do we get frustrated that they’re hyper, when we give them sodas that have 10 teaspoons of sugar per can, and breakfast cereals with even more sugar per ounce?


What amazed me most was that lab tests seem to show that the initial damage done by poor prenatal and infant nutrition isn’t repaired later on, even if nutrition improves.  Now THAT is really sad.  I’m sure that not everything in this book is true (I only know one Book that’s infallible!) but if even half of it is, it’s quite worrisome. 


And with all the new information I’ve been reading about how differently brain connections grow with mother’s milk vs. infant formula, I’ve begun wondering…  Wouldn’t it be interesting to do a study on say, graduates, relating their class ranking to whether they were breast- or bottle-fed?  Has it been done?  I wonder if it would show anything?


I happen to know that the first and second place in my high school class were both breastfed—hmmm.  However, the (extremely) close third place was bottle-fed, so I’m guessing you might not find anything very conclusive overall.  (In case you’re wondering how in the world I know that, I know them all quite well!  )


Of course, that leads me to another thought.  My high school class was abysmally indifferent about academics.  It is always amazing to me to hear of fierce school competitions, because in my day, very few people even cared about grades.  In fact, academic excellence was generally something to downplay if you wanted to have friends.  Play dumb and be cool–that was the spirit.  (So was this attitude because most of them were bottle-fed?   )


Hey, I told you we were just rambling here!    Anyway, talking about school performance reminds me of a great article on education that I found here   Here is an excerpt.



My parents put me in a box for one year out of my life. It was in 1975. As I recall, nobody seemed particularly happy to be in the box, but they thought it was odd that I had not been in the box for the six years of my academic journey. Looking back at that one year in my life I was in the box, I remember finding it uniform and boring, and you had to ask permission to go to the bathroom. If you weren t boxy, you weren t accepted into the main cliques down at the school playground. The goal was to achieve the 50th percentile in everything from clothing to hairstyles to vocabulary in and out of the classroom to math, science, and English. You had to be average. It would be a sin to be less than that or more than that.


So evidently my class was not alone in their quest for mediocrity and sameness.  This guy is about my age.  Anyone else remember this type of atittude?

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    I was always very competitive in class and can’t really speak for others.  Interesting rambling here, though ~ I can’t wait to read the comments it generates ~

  2. DanishDoll says:

    Interesting ramblings! I know that studies also show that drugs and alcohol stay in the reproductive tissues for generations! They are even making some connections between family histories of alcohol and autism. As a past grade school teacher, I certainly saw the effects of too much sugar on kids! Whew! My Abby was an “outside of the box” kind of kid. I felt God told me not to put her in Daycare or Nursery School because it would be very bad for her. The necessity to conform in many of these places is stressed. She would have been labeled a trouble maker for sure, when she was just naturally curious, inventive and creative. Denmark is also a very “average” society. The culture doesn’t like it if you stick your head up a bit above the crowd. Have you ever read the book Addicted to Mediocrity? I think it was by Frankie Shaeffer. Not sure, though. RYC: I have written a children’s book, but not about that post. The book is called Lacy and the Smelly Man. Know anyone who wants to publish it? 😆 I guess I am rambling, too!

  3. cereneone says:

    Very good! Bravo! I think the food makers will continue their path as long as the parents are too busy to slow down. The rat race is quiet literally killing us, in more ways then one.

  4. CHOBLIT says:

    “They say”…(whoever that is)…”you are what you eat”!!!

Leave a Reply

