Now THIS is incredible!  I wish I could say that I had taken this much time and effort teaching my own kids.  Thanks, cereneone, for sharing it with us~

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    That’s AMAZING!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I was absolutely amazed by that little girl.

  3. mamaglop says:

    Pretty impressive!  -Actually it looks a little familiar.  We did the How to Teach Your Baby to Read and How to Teach Your Baby Math programs with one of our children as part of neurdevelopmental therapy.  He knew all the president’s wives when he was two, as well as many many word cards. It probably didn’t take as long or as much work as you suppose.  Young children have a tremendous capacity for learning discrete bits of knowlege.  That’s how they learn to talk, by learning the “names” of  the many things around them. After I stopped doing the word cards with him when I was pregnant with the next child, he lost a lot of what he learned.  I figured once a reader, always a reader or I would have kept it up.  As the children get older, their discrete memorization ability dissipates, and logic and reason begin to come to the fore.  That’s why phonics instruction is the way to go for six year olds. 
    You asked some time ago about O.C.D., what it was.  My two recent posts are about it.

  4. mamaglop says:

    Will she retain it?  I don’t think I can really hazard a guess on that one.  It is true that the early learning usually sticks the best, but learning theorists do say you need to reinforce occasionally.  I think if she enjoys the game she’ll get the reinforcement she needs to keep it.  Our son did the program, (and there was a third book, How to Multiply Your Baby’s Intelligence that described the bits of information -president’s wives for instance- program) as part of a neurdevelopmental therapy program.  To use the brain and build connections is always good for future learning.

Leave a Reply

