Killing Germs


I was telling my son how to clean something more thoroughly.  “That way you kill the germs.”


“But that’s not nice to kill things,” he responded.


“Killings germs is okay.”


“No, it’s not!” emphatically.  (Need I add that this kid will argue about literally anything?) 


“Oh, really,” I replied with a sigh.  “Why’s that?”


“Because we’re supposed to have evolved from them, so we shouldn’t kill them.”


Hmmmm.  Well, the kid has a point, doesn’t he?  If we evolved from some lower life-form, than any lower life-form might be a human being in progress, and would we really want to wantonly destroy them? 


I mean, think about it–why do we act as if evolution just stopped when it got to us?  If things do indeed evolve from one life form to another, then it’s surely still happening. 


Of course, the evolutionist may be even more enthusiastic about killing other life forms if that’s the case–survival of the fittest, you know, so let’s get rid of the competition, right?Maybe those little bacteria that we’re so delightedly annihilating with our antibiotics are actually on track to become the next step in the evolutionary chain–something bigger and better and smarter and more powerful than humans could ever be.  And by our killing off of the weaker ones, we are increasing the number of those antibiotic-resistant bacteria (Superbugs, they call them, I believe.)   Why, a whole army of those may be lurking around the next corner, ready to take over the world!


Boy, I’m glad I’m not an evolutionist, so that I don’t have to worry myself with such stuff.    I’m glad I’m a child of God, created in His image, and I don’t have to fight tooth and nail for my right to exist.  Nor do I have to be overly concerned about preserving minute organisms which I can’t even see, because I know that Someone bigger is taking care of all that. 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    Oh boy, this got a grin out of me!  What a hilarious thought process!  😆

  2. Anonymous says:

    Now it is time for all those hateful evolutionist to jump on you!!! 
    Thanks for the good laugh.   My daughter and I watched a show last year some time that said we all are evolving towards squid!!  I sure hope that “evolutionary” process waits until I am dead and gone.  I really don’t want to be a squid.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Although I teach my children that God created everything and that there is no truth to the Theory of Evolution, they still make comments about humans evolving from apes, etc.  The influence of the media is too pervasive!  I’m sure you had a good talk with your son!  😉

  4. BooksForMe says:

    That’s very good. And, pretty funny! I love how God uses these random things to reveal to us marvelous truths.

  5. homefire says:

    Oh, waiting_for_the_final_trumpet, he was just lipping off!  I’m not a bit worried about him believing it–he was just arguing for argument’s sake.  🙄  We both got a good laugh.

  6. CHOBLIT says:

    You had me worried there for a bit….I knew there would be a twist somewhere back to the truth….cute happening!!

Leave a Reply

