Since we had an excellent discussion Sunday about Romans 7 and 8, it’s been on my mind.  This morning I decided to read it in the Message, and I was impressed by this bit from the middle of chapter 8.



This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life.  It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?”  God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are.  We know who he is, and we know who we are:  Father and children.  And we know we are going to get what’s coming to us–an unbelievable inheritance!


Since part of our discussion was talking about this “dead body” of the old man that we drag around with us so often, and how we need to just drop it and live our new life, I loved the line about grave-tending.  How often do we mull over the past, fuss over things that simply have no control over our lives now that we are alive in Christ?  Don’t tend the grave–let the dead rest, and walk on in newness of life!


And the trusting “What’s next, Papa?”  I just LOVE that!


There was also a neat passage in the beginning of the the 7th chapter, but I must go.  Maybe later.


Blessings on your day~

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    I want to remember that “What’s next, Papa?” every minute of every day ~ I love it!   :love:   :heartbeat: 

  2. Anonymous says:

    That’s so awesome!!  Like fwren, I want to remember that every day!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    RYC:  Interesting take… I got that scripture from Dr. Hovind.  I’ll see if I can find others to back up eating the seeds.  My point was, though, that the seeds have nutrtion and value that we simply can’t get anywhere else.  It’s interesting to see that God provided us with all the nutrition that we need… and how almost all modern day meds can be cancelled out with the use of different aspects of fruits/veggies that we never considered.  Pretty cool.     (Sorry I stayed parked on your site for so long… I got distracted at work… lol!)

  4. Anonymous says:

    That “grave-tending” phrase really puts it into perspective, doesn’t it?  May we all develop that sense of child-like expectation!  :heartbeat:

  5. cereneone says:

    I like that, “What’s next, Papa?” :love:

  6. Anonymous says:

    By the way… I saw your comment to my dad.  “Oh there they are!”  That CRACKED me up!!  😆

Leave a Reply

