I am loving this book so much!  Here are some excerpts from Chapters 2 and 3. 



No man is greater than his prayer life.  The pastor who is not praying is playing; the people who are not praying are straying.  The pulpit can be a shop window to display one’s talents; the prayer closet allows no showing off.


Poverty-stricken as the church is today in many things, she is most stricken here, in the place of prayer.  We have many organizers, but few agonizers; many players and payers, few pray-ers;…many fears, few tears; much fashion, little passion; many interferers, few intercessors; many writers, but few fighters.


The two prerequisites to successful Christian living are vision and passion, both of which are born in and maintained by prayer.The ministry of preaching is open to few; the ministry of prayer–the highest ministry of all human offices–is open to all.


Someone now warns us lest we become so heavenly minded that we are of no earthly use.  Brother, this generation of believers is not, by and large, suffering from such a complex.  The brutal, soul-shaking truth is that we are so earthly minded that we are of no heavenly use.


Is it true?  How much DO we pray?  How fervently?  Deep inside, do you have a vague, gnawing feeling that perhaps you are not really on fire?


Do you pray for the church?  Do you feel the burden of unsaved and lethargic souls?  Just being in a church is NOT enough!  We need to pray for the Holy Spirit fire to fall, baptizing and empowering believers and bringing souls to Christ!








Also Currently Reading
The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God
By Brent Curtis, John Eldredge
see related


And an excerpt from this book, too:



The orthodoxy we try to live out, defined as “Believe and Act Accordingly” is not a sufficient story line to satisfy whatever turmoil and longing our heart is trying to tell us about.  Somehow our head and heart are on separate journeys and neither feels like life. 


Eventually this division of head and heart culminates in one of two directions.  We can either deaden our heart or divide our life into two parts, where our outer story becomes the theater of the should and our inner story the theater of needs, the place where we quench the thirst of our heart with whatever water is available…fantasies, alcohol, etc.


Do you ever feel the dual pull of hypocrisy?  It tugs you to look good, be accepted, but deep down there is always the desire to find the true fire, to dance with our Maker.


Do you have the vision?  Can you find the passion?  Pray, brother and sister!  Pray fervently!  The God who IS, is here for you, ready to send revival fires. 


Receive them!!


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    Those first 4 paragraphs need to be sent around on an e-mail to a long list maybe?  Prayer is such a weak point for me ~ i KNOW i need to be on my knees more ~ why is it such a difficult thing to stay consistent in this area?

  2. marys_hubby says:

    Mary and I are starting a small group this fall and we are placing a VERY big emphasis on prayer. It is SO lacking in today’s church.RYC: The website is: http://www.tomorrowsmemoriesphotography.netLater,Matt

  3. Anonymous says:

    I read “Why Revival Tarries” when I first became a Christian 25+ years ago.  Prayer is extremely neglected in the church — and I don’t pray enough myself.  It was easy to find time to pray when I was still a teenager, now that I’m a home schooling mom of many, it’s not so easy. 

  4. It’s funny to me how little I pray. Why? I have to assume it is because deep-down, I love myself far more than I love God. How can I minister to others? How can I be full of the spirit? How can I say I love my brother and my savior when my eye is so full of darkness?

  5. We saw Love’s Labor’s Lost. It was pretty crude and not Shakespeare’s best effort. I wish I’d read it before I bought the tickets!

  6. cerwindoris says:

    RYC:  I don’t know that much about butterflies – I got my information from the Internet on the Anise and Black – because of the coloring – but I could easily be incorrect.  🙂 
    I took a photo of a Monarch egg – on a Milkweed – so I want to keep an eye on it!  I haven’t seen any Monarchs yet.

  7. cerwindoris says:

    I posted the Monarch egg.  At least my SIL thinks it is one.  Do you know what their eggs look like?

Leave a Reply

