Isn’t it neat how some things just…  work?


And isn’t it irritating how some things just…  don’t?


For instance, our dentist appointements.  I am quite famous for forgetting things, and true to form, I suddenly, at 1:22 realized, AUUUUGGGHHH!! We have dentist appts!!!  I checked the calendar and sure enough, they were at 1 pm.  I tried to call, couldn’t get through, so we just raced out the door.  As we burst in at 1:30 and apologized for our tardiness, the receptionist said, “Oh, they’re scheduled at 1:30.  We called and changed it with the kids because of a cancellation.”  Whew!  I wiped my brow with relief.


Now for the odd part.  No one in our family remembers the dentist’s office calling, and why would a cancellation change the appt to a later time anyway?  Mysterious, no?  God is good. 


And then another f’rinstance.  My sewing machine.  It falls into the latter category, those things that don’t work.  I am trying to be upbeat as I thread and re-thread, saying to myself, “At least it got through all the topstitching beautifully.  Could be worse.”  But something is going to have to be done.  And I am very concerned about how I am going to finish buttonholes with a machine that skips stiches.  That just doesn’t work.  Bah.


It was a hot, heavy damp day, threatening rain all the time, but it never did actually do it.  I wish it would have.  The clothes didn’t dry anyway because it was humid, and I put off watering tomatoes because I just knew it would rain. 


Oh, and the granola bars didn’t work either.  The kids will have to tough it out.  It’s the sewing machine’s fault.  Nuff said.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. yeah, my sewing machine is a major one too. Sometimes I can’t figure whats wrong with it, other times it works fine!

  2. Thanks for stopping by! My daughter got her info from reading Monty Roberts. We hope it works well.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, I appreciate your comment.

  4. ElizabethDNB says:

    I am having sewing machine trouble too! :p
    Weird with the dentist!  Very cool.

  5. ElizabethDNB says:

    I am having sewing machine trouble too! :p
    Weird with the dentist!  Very cool.

  6. Boo. I though your machine might have been working by now.

  7. jcl1 says:

    Mighta been just an effort to consolidate the schedule. For instance, if their 2:00 cancelled and the 4:00 wouldn’t move up, then you could move the 1:00 down to 1:30 and take a longer lunch break (i.e. get people off the clock) instead of sitting around twiddling thumbs. 🙂

  8. RegularGoy says:

    I have a long and sordid history of lucking out of bad situations that I have created for myself. If I devoted half as much attentiveness at the outset as I do cleverness in the end, I’d be much mellower.

Leave a Reply

