An even better quote! 


Tolerably early in life I discovered that one of the unpardonable sins, in the eyes of most people, is for a man to presume to go about unlabelled. The world regards such a person as the police do an unmuzzled dog, not under proper control. -Thomas Henry Huxley, biologist and writer (1825-1895)


Isn’t that just SO true?  It must be a universal human trait to try to pigeonhole people, to stick them into their proper slot, to file them according to parentage, race, religion, etc.  When someone doesn’t fit our categories, we find it irksome.  I have always fought to be free from stereotypes, to be one of the Unlabeled, but people keep trying to stick me back in the box!  Anyone else feel this way?


As Christians, wouldn’t it be nice if that could be our ONLY label?

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    Yep ~ I definitely am in favor of that last line ~

  2. ShineOn1983 says:

    I used to feel that way a lot, and still do some. Now I just don’t care. I am who I want to be and who God wants me to be. If that doesn’t fit into other peoples boxes, I could care less. Most of the time that is:)

  3. Dwaynesworld says:

    I think the tragedy is when we live according to the labels placed on us by men rather than the label that God has placed on us…
     John1:12-13 But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, even to those who believe in His name, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.
    The trick is learning to live to please God rather than man.

Leave a Reply

