Well, yesterday we got another wedding invitation, which we weren’t expecting, and today we got another graduation invitation, which we were.  That brings the tally up to five weddings and two graduation ceremonies in May and June–no, only 4 weddings, I was counting one already past.  But still… Considering that they are all out of state (one clear down on the gulf coast) except for one nice easy in-town wedding, it’s looking a bit big. Actually, we might have had another wedding to go to, but they called it off–is it awful to say that I’m relieved?  ( Not only for my own sake actually–I think they were wise to reconsider.) 


Add that to the fact that we have a weekend-long family reunion 8 hours away, plus multi-day church conference 5 hours away, also both in May.  Can you guess how many days in May we will actually be HOME???  I have been dreading May for months, and now it’s almost here. 


We actually should be hosting our own graduation reception for my lovely daughter, who has finished her homeschooling, but with the crazy schedule, we have decided to put it off.  Everything is happening in May!   Why, oh, why, didn’t we get with it and do that back in the winter before things got busy?  She actually finished quite a while ago.  Ah, well, hindsight is always so much clearer.  I never have been good at planning ahead. 


Anyway, I am going to sit down with a calendar and see how it’s all going to work.  It all begins next weekend, and I need to look at the details.  I’ve been scaring myself with it for weeks, so maybe when I get things all mapped out, I’ll find out it’s not so bad. 


Right.  I’ll believe it when I see it. 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. ShineOn1983 says:

    Is this complaining I hear? Hmm, well, I sympathize, but you really have only three options. 1. Don’t go to all of them. 2. Go, but be miserable and upset the whole time. 3. Go, make up your mind to enjoy yourself, and be a light for Him:) :love:

  2. homefire says:

    Actually, I want to be at all those things.  The problem is getting there!  I have been mentally adding up the number of hours sitting in the van, plus calculating how much the gas will cost. 😮  (Probably more than we’ll make that month, with our gas hog!) 
    I also hate to be gone from home so much.  I am just a homebody.  We have no one we know nearby to feed our cats or look after things for us, and I hate missing church 3 weeks out of 5.  On the other hand, I know that all these things will be good and I’ll be glad I was there.  Another good thing is that several of them coincide, which makes it financially feasible for us to actually go to them all.  If each had to be a separate trip, it would probably be impossible.  Yes, I guess I’m complaining, but more than that, just trying to figure out how to survive through it all.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Guess what?!  If you lived 5 hours closer, you could have EVEN MORE on your calender in May!  Aren’t ya jealous?!   

  4. homefire says:

    Ooh, la!  Thank you, Looking, for giving me something to be thankful for! 

  5. Anonymous says:

    You’ll REALLY be thankful when you make the 5 hour trek back home! :laugh: Home always looks good, doesn’t it?!:yes:

  6. Anonymous says:

    Sounds busy.  I’d hate to be away from home that much, too. 

Leave a Reply

