Thank you, all who prayed and/or left comments.  The time of self-focus has passed, praise God.



Thought for the day:


The solid Rock is sometimes covered by shifting sands, but under the sand, the Rock is always there.  Take time and effort to brush away the sand so that your view of the Rock is not obscured.


A friend sent me a link to a very thought-provoking article  about women in ministry.  I found it quite convicting.  I’d love to hear what you all think about it.


And speaking of women’s ministry, if you’ve never read Amy Carmichael, you really should.  Mimosa is an incredibly encouraging story.  And she has such a lovely way with words.  Here’s a paragraph I loved.



Oh, the story loses sadly in the writing.  First there is the the poverty of bare words without any of the tender touches of the living telling.  And then there is the loss of even what little those same poor words can capture, as they are hammered out in type and sewn up in a book.  With every change of element something eludes one–floats away like a fragrance in the air, vanishes like color on the mountains when the living light of dawn passes into ordinary day.  Often I have stopped and longed that this rare look into the life of an Indian woman might be given by means of some other sense than that of eye or ear.  When shall we be able to think our tales across the sea?


Anyone who has ever done much writing can surely understand her lament.  How many, many times I have found that words simply couldn’t convey what I was feeling!


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. I read E. Eliot’s bio of Amy C. but I’ve not read any of her personal writings except a few poems. I hope you are feeling all sorts of better!

  2. I really enjoyed (And wholeheartedly agreed) with that article!  Thanks for sharing!

  3. joy4jesus424 says:

    glad you’ve got your face to the SON! Wow- that article was awesome…my thoughts exactly. I printed it so i could peruse it later…luv ya, sis

  4. it’s good to see women writing these kinds of things (re:article), though the anger/bitterness?/frustration tone in her writing is a bit disturbing.  can’t she write the same thing with an attitude of love, and give her frustrations to the Lord?  I want to agree with her wholeheartedly, b/c that’s the kind of thing that affirms what I’m called to do, but the tone of the article put a damper on the encouragement.
    thanks for sharing it…you may also be interested in Sally Clarkson’s books, The Mission of Motherhood, and The Ministry of Motherhood.   I’m reading the first one now, and it’s SOOOOO good for me.

  5. Hi again 🙂
    ryc:  yep, wearing the bracelet helps to remind me…most of my complaining WAS done without me realizing it…sometimes there’s no reason to complain, it’s just a bad habit!

  6. mamaglop says:

    That quote does make me want to read the book.  As for the other woman, isn’t it ironic that she is in ministry as she writes against women in ministry?

Leave a Reply

