Continuing the thoughts of my last post…


One comment gave definitions of Commission and Commandment as such:



Commission= a sending or mission (to do or accomplish something).


Commandment= something that must be obeyed.


Which led me to a new question:  Is a commission a commandment?  Do we have a choice whether or not to fulfill a commission?  Or is a commission also by definition a command?

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. mamamerth says:

    Thank you for reminding me that this won’t last forever. Today is better… he is not getting to quite so much trouble. Now If I could say that about our dog… she blessed our kitchen floor this morning because I woudn’t let her to howl at the neighbor’s dog. 😡 Its not one its the other. :whocares:

  2. Could you explain, as we consider commissions and commandments, why so much of modern Christianity (even Brethren) only emphasize half of the “Great Commission?”

  3. joy4jesus424 says:

    Hmmm…good question, homefire. Just off the top of my head, commandments seem to apply to all believers; we have no choice in whether we obey the commands of Jesus. Now commissions are not commandments, per se, but yes, they need to be fulfilled within our own lives. Everyone has different commissions at different times in their lives. For instance, my commission at this time in my life is to be a Godly wife (reverencing and submitting to my head) and mother (guiding and directing young souls to glorify God in all they do). My commission also includes taking care of my family as a whole: meeting their needs (food, clean clothes, etc.) Is any of this very glamorous? No, not really, but it is my commission. I believe God wants me to exercise the same diligence in carrying it out as He expects from someone with a “grander” commission.

  4. ElizabethDNB says:

    I think that they are different things that need to have similar results.  I may command all of my children to wash their hands and then commission them to set the table.  They are slightly different things, but are equaly weighty and need to be obeyed with equal gravity. 

Leave a Reply

