When you are trying to revive a dying fire, you don’t just add wood.  You also need to rake the coals together.  If you still have some embers, they need to be heaped together, and the flame will rekindle much more quickly. Hmmm.  Reminds me of



Heb 10:25 Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. Some would say you just start a new fire…, or go sit at another one that’s already burning good.  Funny you should mention that verse.  Heb 10 has been where I’ve been spending the last few days, although I’m not sure why.  Can’t seem to get away from it.

  2. fwren says:

    Interesting analogy.

  3. Thanks for the remind! Keep the fire burning, sis!

  4. Great point! So, even if two “weaklings” get together, we can still have a flame. It reminds me of Ecc. 4:9-12″””Two are better than one because they have a good return for their to lift him up. Furthermore, if two lie down together they keep warm, but how can one be warm alone? And if one can overpower him who is alone, two can resist him. A cord of three strands is not quickly torn apart.”

  5. homefire says:

    Ah, but that’s the point, heir.  Starting a new fire is harder than reviving an old one.  As long as you still have some coals from the last one, you don’t even need a match, and it takes off and burns a lot more easily.  Also, scattering the embers will make the fire go out much more quickly.

  6. mamaglop says:

    This is a verse I’ve been trying to live out for a year and a half now.  I quit going to my church because the music would make me so mad I left worship service worse than I came. (I had been the interim worship leader when they hired a green kid who sold them on his vision, but he didn’t pan out very well and wouldn’t accept any help or suggestions.) -(It wasn’t just me that thought so.) I didn’t want to be the troublemaker and I tried to get over it until Mr. M. told me I should try another church.  For months afterward going to church was painful for me. I went, because I thought it was safer, but the other “coals” were abrasive and I was terribly hurt.  I was looking for a non-churchy church. I notice so much of church adhering to a “form”, even a charismatic “form”, but not much overt evidence of first century power.    Every one I had things I was super sensitized to:  too loud music, music unsuitable for congreational singing, all choruses- no hymns, or too long service,  

  7. oohhh…that’s good.

Leave a Reply

