I remembered an old friend today:  Jason_Mitchener .  I used to receive his e-mail devotionals, but I had lost track of him years ago.  I was so glad to find that he’s still alive and still writing.  I’m going to post the first of his writings that I ever read, because it impressed me so that I’ve never forgotten it.


 



Light Affliction- A Devotional



2 Corinthians 4:17-  “For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory.”

I type this devotional with a stick held between my teeth because I don’t have enough strength to use my hands. I sit in a wheelchair because I can’t walk. A ventilator on the back of my wheelchair breathes for me because my lungs are too weak to pull in their own air. If my nose began to itch right now, I would have to call a nurse to scratch it for me or just put up with the itching for a while. Doctors and social workers classify me as “severely disabled.”

Some may see the condition I’m in and think, “Oh, that poor soul! How he must suffer!” They pity me.

Do I suffer? Yes. I wouldn’t be a flesh and blood man if I didn’t suffer.

Does my suffering drive me to despair? I praise God that it doesn’t.

How can I be as severely disabled as I am and still have joy? Picture an old-fashioned two pan scale. On one side, I place all the suffering I have experienced here on this earth. On the other side, I place all the glory I will receive in heaven. Which side will have the most weight? My glory in heaven! Indeed, looking at this comparison of weights, my suffering doesn’t seem very heavy at all. My suffering becomes a light affliction!

Why complain that I can’t walk when one day I’ll dance before God’s throne? Why complain that I need a ventilator to breathe for me when one day I’ll be breathing in the full glory of God?

Paul says, “While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

Christian, all the suffering you’re going through now is temporary. The bad hip that pains you at times won’t exist forever. The unforgiveness your family has toward you will be forgotten. The loneliness you feel will be replaced with constant fellowship with your Savior.

Are we focusing on the temporary or eternal?

Join me as I look forward to that glory day when we shall be forever with our Lord:

“All the way my Savior leads me
O the fullness of His love!
Perfect rest to me is promised
In my Father’s house above.
When my spirit, clothed immortal,
Wings its flight to realms of day
This my song through endless ages:
Jesus led me all the way;
This my song through endless ages:
Jesus led me all the way.”

(hymn by Fanny Crosby)

In Christ,

Jason Mitchener


 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. Hello! Just browsed in through one of those natural living/attachment parenting/gentle discipline rings. :)I liked that devotional. Very true.

  2. samcgarber says:

    …and you’re glad he’s still alive?  You must believe what he said there.  He must too.
    ryc: ugh? 

  3. fwren says:

    Thanks for sharing this ~ it sure puts our little trials into perspective.  Blessings on your day.

  4. fwren says:

    Per your frustration posts, you may want to read organizedfruitcake’s latest post.  😆

  5. Great devotional, thank you.
    Re. your last post on xanga editing – I never caught that before!  That’s hilarious! 😆

  6. I love that verse. It’s one of my favorites.

  7. aj1965 says:

    Love the “Light Affliction” title.  It really is true and does put things into perspective.  Very good devotional!!

  8. aj1965 says:

    Oh, and, I see that you were up late last night, too!! Must be something in the water?? did you see my little footprints?? I was up late on xanga, too! shhhh!:giggle:

  9. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for sharing this!  When we view eternity, our afflictions, are light, aren’t they?  Thanks for the reminder :heartbeat: I had just stopped in to see how you were holding up this week~:wave:

Leave a Reply

