Well, I’ve been trying not to think about it, but pretty soon I’m going to have to.


My beloved is leaving me for a whole week.  In 23 years of married life, we have never been apart for this long, so it will be a new experience.  (I know, some of you are thinking, “Boy, she’s spoiled.”  Yup.  And I like it that way!  )  He is going down to Mississippi to work, so I am glad for him to do it, but I’m afraid I just don’t know how to run a household on my own!  This will stretch me.


He leaves tomorrow night, and ds 15 is going with him.  Methinks the house will be quiet.


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. JAM4the1Lamb says:

    Quiet house? … what’s that? I do not know this concept.

  2. Angieprays says:

    {{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}Blessings,Angie

  3. fwren says:

    How about you just go along??  :p

  4. joy4jesus424 says:

    You knew you would hear from me, didn’t you? No, I absolutely am not thinking you are spoiled. I’m not going to sugarcoat it; it is hard to be a mom and a dad. It’s good that ds15 is going. That will take a little stress off. Here’s what you do: focus on the positives like, relaxed schedules. If you want to stay up all night sewing or whatever, dh isn’t going to care. Meals are a lot less structured with dh gone. In fact, the kids just sort of do what they want for meals. Now the trick is to remember when he gets home that you are no longer in authority. :nono: You can do it, sis; I know you can! And guess what? Absence really does make the heart grow fonder.:heartbeat:

  5. Anonymous says:

    A week is the longest you’ve been separated in 23 years?  Wow!  I can’t even imagine!  My husband used to be active duty Air Force and is currently in the Reserves, so he’s away for at least two weeks every year.  I’m sure you’ll all do fine.
    Thanks for stopping by my site!  It sure will be good to leave all the bad behind us for good!  God bless!

  6. ShineOn1983 says:

    I hope all goes well this next week. I’m sure you will do just fine. Take it easy.

  7. fwren says:

    I agree with joy4 about the relaxed schedule ~ when my dh is gone overnight, sometimes I read or I’m on the computer till the wee hours without worrying about disturbing him.  I eat whenever I get hungry ~ or not.  I don’t have to put things away until just before he comes home.  Actually, I could turn into a bit of a slob until his return ~ :p   You have children at home still, so it may not be that relaxed, but you may find some things about it that you enjoy more than you think.  One thing for sure, he will look really great to you when he returns! 

  8. quilt_cats says:

    My hubby used to have to travel quite a bit, but not for the last five years or so.  I have got really spoiled myself! 
    I wanted to say I noticed your blanket in the other entry, and it is beautiful!

  9. marys_hubby says:

    I remember the first time Mary went away for a week. It was hard, but makes you appreciate your spouse more.RYC: Thank you!! 🙂

  10. mamamerth says:

    I don’t like to be left alone to be in charge for days at a time either. I much prefer hubby to be home in the evening to relieve me from “being in charge”. I have left my husband home for weeks at a time (alone) (almost every year) while my son and I go on “Mommy and Me” vacations to the grandparent’s house (my dad and mom take on a good majority of Alex’s care while we are there).

Leave a Reply

