Spring has sprung!!!  I have been a bit manic this morning, amazed at how warm and lovely it is.  Oh, groan~!  My 10 year old daughter just came in from playing outdoors barefoot.  (Never mind that there’s still quite a bit of snow here and there.)  She wanted me to feel her freezing toes.  Sheesh—kids!


I keep forgetting that in my new burst of domesticity, I’ve been inspired by  momtoH_VandJ to post menus.  I keep thinking I will, but haven’t yet.  Part of the problem is that my menus usually happen on the fly.  Whatever jumps out of the freezer gets cooked.  (yikes!  That didn’t come out sounding very good, did it?)  I like the idea of planning menus, but when I do, I often find I’m just “not in the mood for that today,” or it takes too long and I forgot to start early or (insert other excuse.) 


Besides, I sort of like to cook lots and then eat leftovers, which makes menus a bit boring.  Today I had the same thing for lunch as I did for breakfast–a slice of leftover stuffed crust pizza.  Mmmm.  I wonder how long it would take me to get tired of pizza?  I tried making the crust with whole wheat flour this time–different,but good.


I guess I should at least plan a day at a time.  Well, dd is cooking tonight, and I think she’s making barbecued meatballs and potluck potatoes.  She asked her dad for an idea for the vegetable, and he suggested creamed spinach, but I don’t think she was too thrilled with that.    I agree with her that veggies are boring–it’s so hard to have any variety in the winter. 


On a more thoughtful plane, I read something this morning that stuck with me.  A woman had a very realistic dream that she walked into the room where her beloved young cousin was sleeping, and without hesitation, hit her over the head and killed her.  Immediately, she was swamped by her remorse and guilt, but it was too late.  There was no way to bring her back.  She imagined the family’s grief, and if her guilt were discovered, the horrible effect on her own life.  She was enveloped in despair.  Then she woke up.


She said that never in her life had she felt such relief.  She was NOT GUILTY!  Can you even imagine the release, the sweet joy she must have felt?  Instead of being doomed to live her life in wretchedness and guilt, she was FREE!  And so are we forgiven through Jesus’s blood.  Even though we were miserable sinners (and we were, whether we realized it or not!) we are now declared NOT GUILTY, and we are FREE.  Awesome.  Thank you, Abba!

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. sparrow59 says:

    Truly enjoyed your post today!  And yes, it will stick with me for a while, too.  We take God’s grace so lightly, sometimes, that we forget how truly awesome it is.  Not just free, but REDEEMED.  Wow.

  2. fwren says:

    Yes, what sweet release it is to believe and then realize we are free!  Amen to the thank you.

  3. mamaglop says:

    I’ve been wanting to try creamed spinach.  I like spinach salad and cooked spinach with a little butter and vinegar…  We used to have veggies like stewed tomatoes, and a “salad” of a leaf of lettuce with a scoop of cottage cheese and a peach half on it when I was a kid.  Fresh vegetables were not nearly so available in the winter then.

  4. mamaglop says:

    If I had had that dream, I would have wondered why when I woke up.

  5. Funky dream. I wonder why, too, but what rhyme or reason is there to dreams? Maybe she dreamed it to illustrate God’s forgiveness? She’s done worse than kill someone as a sinful human. But, God has declared her (and me and all Christians) “Not Guilty!” Amen times ten.

  6. Anonymous says:

    YEEESSS!  We are FREE!  As Beth Moore would say……..Glory!:sunny:

  7. aj1965 says:

    Isn’t that awesome how the Father gave her that illustration!! If she hadn’t awakened from the dream at that moment, the affect wouldn’t have been the same.  I think the fact that she had the dream and then woke up with the feeling of freedom WAS the message of the dream.  YEA!! WE’RE NOT GUILTY!!!  And, yes, God DOES give dreams, and they DO mean something.  Otherwise, why would kings in the Bible be so disturbed about a few fat and skinny cows, ears of corn, or of a statue made of silver, gold, bronze, iron, & clay?? 🙂

  8. homefire says:

    Stewed tomatoes…  we used to have that, too, with saltine crackers crunched up in it or something.  how could I have forgotten?  🙄  But I always hated it, much as I love tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

