Well, now I have a sweet little flower instead of my header picture–how very cute.  Dot says that our photo upload place is upgrading, so hopefully they will find our pics again eventually. 



I found a note today that I’d jotted down sometime–not sure where I got it.  It’s called the Spiral of Deadly D’s:


They are Disappointment, Discouragement, and Despair.


They need to be replaced with HIS appointment, HIS courage, and HIS pair (Jesus and you!) 


I am suddenly finding that I’m torn between lots of things I want to do.  I want to finish the Jabez blanket, want to finish the jeans quilt, and I went to the library today to return some very overdue books, and well, now I have a bunch of great-looking new books to read.  And of course there are always blogs to catch up on–I’m never caught up on those!  Decisions, decisions.  Oh, yeah, and there’s a mountain of laundry, clean but not folded….  I just hate that.


One thing I decided today is that my menus have gotten decidedly boring, and I really should branch out a little.  So tonight we had square hamburgers, caraway cabbage, and a carrot casserole.  The burgers were wonderful (they’re baked, sort of like thin meatloaf) but that was a recipe I’d tried before.  The other two were new.  Caraway cabbage was marvelous–better than any way I’ve ever had it before.  The carrot casserole was different–very sweet.  Dh liked it, and he hates cooked carrots.  Those of us who like carrots were more ambivalent about it, so I guess it’s a good way to cover up the carrot flavor.  Oh, and the peanut butter pie that my dear daughter made was wonderful.    She has cooked more this week than ever before in her life, and I am enjoying it SO much!  She made soup one night, enchiladas once, and a pile of very delicious breadsticks which we’ve all been enjoying, plus the peanut butter pies.  Mmmmm.  This I could get used to! 


Tomorrow I am going to cook a bunch of chicken in the crock pot.  What should I do with that, I wonder? 


I also need desperately to organize my recipes.  I wish there were a painless, simple way to do this.  I have a recipe box that’s overflowing, piles of papers with recipes on them stashed on top of the microwave, and many cookbooks, so finding the recipe I want (and remembering the good ones) is a real challenge.  I have Master Cook, but it’s just a bit cumbersome to enter them.  Anybody have any wonderful tricks for recipe organization?


Okay, here I go.  I think I’ll sew a bit before bed.


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    RYC:  yep pretty fitting ….know xactly what ya mean:rolleyes::lol:     Shore glad you enjoy sewing. :p With dear daughter cooking this week, you might get LOTS of sewing done!  It’s kind of amazing what a significant other in their lives does suddenly to their homemaking.  :spinning:

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yep, another comment!  just a p.s.:fun:  Try putting your recipes in a photo album with 3 sleeves to a page.  Guess what?  Even with that being done, there’s tons of loose stuff constantly falling out!  It helps, JUST a little!  :giggle:

  3. samcgarber says:

    Your header picture is still there.
    Domesticology.  What’s up with variety any way?  Try rice with gravy – salad – and pineapple – every day for a year and see if anyone notices.

  4. fwren says:

    I still see no picture.  I love the D’s/His observation ~ it’s going on my frig.  I, too, am torn between too many things to do.  Went to the big city yesterday for fabric and I want to sew, but now its March and I also need to do menues and the house and the yard for the big event coming our way, as you know.  Think I’m going to hit sewing hard for a week or so, then MUST think about other things.
    Recipe book ~ I designed my own recipe card on the computer (with birds and a verse) and typed them all up and put them in a photo album.  I also made my own dividers for the different sections.  A challenge, but I love the result.  Then whenever I have a new recipe, I can just go to the computer and make up a new recipe card and slide it in.  Sometimes, I type up several that I have been saving, then take them with me when we travel, cut them out and put them in the correct places.  Sometimes, they need to be rearranged to keep them in alphabetical order within the sections, so that is a good thing to do in a motel room.

  5. GraceEnuf says:

    I love your D’s replace with His.  Its all about Him anyway:sunny:

  6. I love the replacements for the 3 D’s…I’m gonna write that down and keep it close…as a reminder CONSTANTLY!!  Replacing the lies with TRUTH…that’s what I’m doing these days…Thanks for the help.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Just passing through, have a great weekend!!!

  8. ShineOn1983 says:

    If it’s your eldest daughter that is doing the cooking, don’t get too used to it. You may have to give it up in awhile:)

  9. Mix chicken with taco seasoning and cheddar cheese. Put inside flour tortillas. Top with enchilada sauce if desired. Also, it freezes nicely (even with the cheese mixed in.)What new books did you get?

Leave a Reply

