ZE LEVI’S, ZEY ARE SECURE, SIR!


(credit for “Keep your eyes on your Levi’s” goes to my dear hubby, who came up with it when I started my prowl.  )


After prowling for a few minutes, I discovered a pair of outgrown pants in ds 15’s drawer that really weren’t nice enough to save for ds 11, and that was enough to do the last few squares, soooooo….  I now am FINISHED!  (cackle)  And this pair even had some cool zipper pockets on the legs that I was able to incorporate.  Leg pockets are especially good because there’s more fabric around them than around the back pockets. 


Thanks for all the suggestions–I hadn’t considered thrift shop, but I wouldn’t have been able to go over the weekend anyway.  It’s winter again….sigh.


Friday night we planned to go to some friends’ house for a meal.  The weather got nasty, and it was canceled.  Saturday we were supposed to go to council meeting at church.  Weather was still nasty and the snowplows weren’t out up north, so they canceled it.  Saturday night we were supposed to go to a Purim party, but it was an hour away, and it had snowed all day, so we stayed home.  We did go to church Sunday–snowplows got there Sun. morning–but it was a very quiet weekend.  It’s getting cold again now–below 20 degrees.  Brrr.


Oh, well, now I have a bunch of big stacks of denim to sew together.  If only I have a heavy duty sewing machine needle…If I don’t, I’ll be stalled for awhile, since the fabric store is 45 minutes away. 


But my Jabez blanket is nearing completion!  I worked on that this weekend, too.  I’m rather excited about it, because it’s one project I really had serious doubts about finishing.  One of these days I’ll post a pic.


Edited to add: 


Jabez Blankets is a ministry based in Killaloe, Ontario.  You knit or crochet granny squares and put them together into a blanket; then they send them to needy children somewhere.  I heard about it through aboverubies magazine.  I don’t know of a website for the ministry, but I do have an e-mail address if anyone is interested.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. I have never heard of a Jabez blanket. What’s that? Something with enlarged borders that keeps one from pain?

  2. homefire says:

    😆  Mary, you are just great! 
    I’ll edit to explain that.

  3. Thanks for the explanation! Now it all make sense.

  4. ElizabethDNB says:

    Great project.  We do something like that for scouts every year.  We also have a local thing to donate to the newborns left at drop off points as an alternative to trashcans or abortion.

Leave a Reply

