While reading about Rosa Parks, my 11 year old son suddenly burst out laughing.  “Separate drinking fountains??” he sputtered incredulously.  He spent quite awhile chuckling at how ridiculous that was.  I think it’s encouraging that he saw that as completely ludicrous.  Maybe we are making progress on this racism thing!


On the other hand, last night I watched a news clip of several blacks who said that unfortunately our country isn’t ready for a black president.  Say what?  Why in the world not?  I couldn’t care less what color our leader is, if he has godly values and is dedicated to the good of the people.  Why is it that black people don’t want a black president for the simple reason that he’s black?  Something seems out of focus here–what is it?


I think it’s far more important what a presidential candidate believes than what he looks like.  It is just incredible to me that in a country where we claim to have equality, we are still so concerned with externals.  So maybe we still have a way to go…

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. mamaglop says:

    I think the people in this country wo are  concerned with externals gravitate to the media and control the perception of what the rest of us think.  I’ve been praying for a certain black woman to try for president.  What’s inside the heart and mind is vitally important to me.  I have big concerns about the muslim education of the one candidate.

  2. Awesome thing is, GOD looks at the heart!  And as Christians we need to do that too, though we can’t see the heart like God can, we can see the fruits.  And yeah, I could care less if the apple is red or yellow, it’s still an apple, right!  I love black people!  And I think it would do our country good to have a Roof Raisin’ Christian Black President!  :goodjob:  Yeah, Mom use to tell about seperate drinking fountains and to me that is so totally idiotic!  Who did segrigationalists thing they were!  Speak of being High and Mighty! 

  3. Amen, sista!  :coolman:

  4. homefire says:

    Agreed, mamag. about the Muslim thing.  Like I said, the color just ain’t the thing!

  5. ShineOn1983 says:

    It doesn’t look like to me that the blacks don’t want a black president, they just don’t think the country is ready for it. Personally I agree. There is still so much racism, especially in the south, that it would be very difficult for a black president, I think. It doesn’t mean I don’t agree with Homefire, that if he is Godly that is what we look at, but I totally see what they meant.

  6. homefire says:

    Perhaps you’re right.  I’ve never really been exposed to much of that, not having any Deep South connections, but it could be true.  I tend to think that some people just like being victims, though, and wonder if those types don’t gravitate toward interview situations? 
    Kind of like watching the people being interviewed in New Orleans after the hurricane.  Time after time, I heard people whining about how nobody had helped them.  I think the people who weren’t whining were probably doing something to help the situation and too busy to fuss with interviews.
    Okay, now tell me now insensitive I am. 

Leave a Reply

