Just call me………         Madame Skip-a-Step.


Today when a couple of my offspring turned up their noses at leftover Mexican Lasagna, and thought they’d like mac n cheese from a box, I thought, hey, why not?  Saves the good stuff for those of us who appreciate the finer things in life.  (I really think that anyone who prefers powdered cheese pasta to a good Mex meal has a couple screws loose, but that’s beside the point.)  Since I wasn’t planning to partake of this dish anyway, I didn’t spend a lot of time.  I hurriedly boiled water, cooked macaroni, and, since I am the Queen of Don’t Make Extra Dirty Dishes, I did my usual trick of holding the pot lid tipped a bit and pouring the extra water down the drain.  You know, no need to wash a colander that way.  Welll…..this time the pot lid slipped and schlooooop!  There went all the macaroni in the sink. 


Sigh.  Sometimes skipping a step is just one step forward, two steps back.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    So tell me, did you scoop up and save the macaroni, or did you let it all go down the tubes, so to speak?  πŸ˜†

  2. homefire says:

    Well, being my frugal self, and since the sink was reasonably clean, and since I don’t have a garbage disposal, I scooped it into a colander (yep, had to dirty a dish  πŸ™„ ) and rinsed it good, then stuck it back in the pan!  They never knew the difference!  I mean, hey, I wasn’t eating it anyway! πŸ˜† 

  3. ShineOn1983 says:

    LOL. Sounds like me. I would have scooped it up probably:giggle:

  4. lol! i sure have done that before! nobody knows the dif!

  5. ajhollis says:

    OH YOU ARE SO BAD!! Although I once dropped a lasagne in the dirty clothes basket. I still served it to my husband and I am proud of it especially now that I can’t stand him!!HEE HEE!!!!
     So are you wierd?? I am check out my latest blog!! YOU HAVE BEEN TAGGED! Rules are in my last entry.

  6. Yes, I’ve picked mac out of the sink also. Who knows what they do in restaurants?

  7. As someone wise once said……”Haste Makes Waste”…….Of course I don’t think that someone had hungry kids to feed, laundry to do, cat litter to empty, etc. etc. :giggle:

  8. Anonymous says:

    Hee hee That sounds like something I would do. And I totally would have scooped it back up too. πŸ˜†

  9. zippyboot says:

    I’m too much of a pansy to skip the collander. I don’t like steam burns – ouch. Ah, but I am still lazy. I have used the same collander to strain both the pasta and the meat that will be served together in the same meal. I’ve dumped macaroni in the sink before too. I wash my sink everyday, why wouldn’t I eat out of it? :sunny:

  10. LOL!!!  i did that once, but only half fell out…and i put it back in!!  LOL!!!  it was just for the kids afterall.  they didn’t notice anything different!  :giggle:
    thanks for the laugh, it was great!
    ryc: thank you girly.  i tried doing a header one time before but it looked all screwed up on xanga.  finally had the time & want, to do it again.
    hugs,
    mary

  11. Anonymous says:

    Oh I do that all the time!!!I soo enjoy reading what you have to say! (always brings a smile to the face)

  12. I think we’ve all done this at one time or another….    usually if I goof, it all ends up down the disposal- then I have to start again.  My eldest daughter has a fish once she was cleaning an it slid down the disposal…Yup, you guessed it….there I was, up to my elbow digging around for a live fish.  I was a hero that day.  How’s that for a non sequitur.  ~M.E.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Been there done that!  Made for some gritty mac-n-cheese!

  14. I don’t know how to do this (respond) but here goes. In response to your post of 1/04, God’s Word says that we are to “flee Satan”, “put away from us all manner of evil speaking …”, we are not to “let sin reign in our mortal bodies”, nor “yeild our members as instruments of unrighteousness”, we are to “cast off the works of darkness”, and are to “make no provision for the flesh…”. This doesn’t sound like just the simple presence of lght. It sounds as though evil is a real force of its own, one which we are actively and deliberately to engage in battle against. One of the ways we do this, of course, is to “put on the armour of light”, but we are also to do all of the verbs listed above. God Bless. Ann

  15. homefire says:

    ooh, good stuff.  And I’m wondering…  if you’re who I think you may be,
    WELCOME TO XANGA, GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

Leave a Reply

