I just read a rather convicting article at laines letters and got a new perspective on something I’ve never wondered about, but maybe should have.  It’s about this verse.



Pro 31:23 Her husband is known in the gates, when he sitteth among the elders of the land.


So why, in the midst of her making tapestries and girdles, does it flash to her husband?  Her dedication to her husband was already covered earlier, in verses 11 and 12.  Now, right smack dab in the middle of all the description of her work, we’re back to her husband.  Why?


Laine’s idea on this is that a wife’s work and care for her household shows respect for her husband, and allows him to be respected by others.  This isn’t about his relationship with her–it’s about his place in society!


Well, that one hits me between the eyes.  I’ve never been known for my housekeeping.  (Well, maybe I have been, but not in a good way, know what I mean? )  Nor am I particularly ambitious or energetic about serving others, gardening, sewing, or any of the other things mentioned in Prov 31.  Am I, without even realizing it, proving a hindrance to my husband by my idleness and disorganization?  I’m a loving wife.  I’m even fairly submissive, I think.  But boy oh boy, when it comes to this “looking well to the ways of her household” thing, I have really dropped the ball. 


What do you all think?  Is this a reasonable conclusion based on this passage? 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to

  1. ShineOn1983 says:

    Great subject. And yes, though I have become the most horrible housekeeper, I agree with Laine. And…from a man’s perspective, I read this to D. and he said he agreed that (a wife’s work and care for her household shows respect for her husband, and allows him to be respected by others.  This isn’t about his relationship with her–it’s about his place in society!)
    I have much work to do in this area!! I’d better go! LOL

  2. homefire says:

    Oh, shoot, I was afraid someone would agree!  🙄  This is really hard!

  3. i agree too!  we bring honor to our husbands by the way WE take care of our home, our children & our husbands :wink:.  There’s ALWAYS room for improvement for everyone…until my ticker stops ticking…i WILL always need improvement in some area or another so don’t beat yourself up for this!  alteast you realize it now : ).  my house is chaos right now w/ my photography business doing so well.  i’m neglecting my home. 😦
    anyways, have a wonderful Christmas!
    mary

  4. samcgarber says:

    She makes bed coverings for herself; her clothing is fine linen and purple. Her husband is known in the gates when he sits among the elders of the land. She makes linen garments and sells them; she delivers sashes to the merchant. (Proverbs 31:22-24)
     
    You and G compliment each other.  When we hang out everybody knows that G’s wife is cool.  How many people would take out a whole Saturday and Sunday to hang out with us?  This is also cool.  Or should I say ‘valiant’ in keeping with ‘verbs 3110?  (not very many translations do ‘chayil’ as ‘valiant’ here – sheesh – must be a gender strife thing – but 1899 Douay-Rheims gets it right: “Who shall find a valiant woman? Far; and from the uttermost coasts is the price of her”).
     
    Maybe this particular lady that Lamuel’s Mom dreamed up – is a fashion clothing creator – she delivers sashes to the merchant – of course the best of the best sash she gives to her husband because she already thinks he’s hot – so the guys are doing there thing in the city, like they do, a sash for everyone and everyone in his sash, and this Sage of the Sage, this “Lamuel,” in his magnificent sash earns respect for his magnificent sash making mate.  Maybe someone else is noticed for there fabulously specklessly beautiful adobe house and there smiling house fixing wife – but Lamuel the great – what peerless sashes – I’m telling you, his wife makes them.
     
    So I agree that valiant wife’s compliment – I disagree that valiant women, such as yourself, should be subjected to living up to that dream of dreams Lamuel’s Mom had for a daughter in law in all points.  Now, I have no idea’r what your place looks like when we’re not around but I felt like totally like comfortable and even welcome there and I think you and G are the greatest.  In all this I must conclude that . . . I’ve held back facts again…
     
    RYC: Just be a little more patient Mrs. Valiant, in the end I won’t hold back facts . . . I’m still fine tuning my argument.  I don’t seldom do long essays these days, a little clue here, a little hint there…
     
    Tell G I’ll see him at the gate where Sages meet in sashes – his sash is . . . sashay – did you make it for m’?

  5. samcgarber says:

    *edit* ‘wives in place of wifes’ and ‘seldom do’ in place of ‘don’t seldom do.’  I might even for greater compliment substitute the term Mrs. Valient for a charming Mrs. Lamuel – his mighty woman of valor was all his mother ever wanted for him – I am sure.  *bows (slightly as in ‘Pride and Prejudice’)* Good day Mrs. G *grins* Does one grin after one bows? Shabbat Shalom

  6. Much better! she is really doing good. almost back to normal! 🙂 🙂 have a great weekend!

  7. homefire says:

    Oh, honey, I knew FlyLady before she was FlyLady, and I’m one of her early failures.  She and I parted company about 10-12 years ago over the issue of wearing shoes…:laugh:  She’s a sweetheart, though, and she’s helped a lot of people.

  8. homefire says:

    Sam, that was really kind of you.  I’m very glad you felt comfortable here.  I have to admit, I’m an up-and-down housekeeper.  It’s usually better on weekends, when other people are apt to see it. 
     Valiant…hmm, I think I like that.  With our modern connotation, it actually makes more sense in the context.  I’d never noticed it was the same word.  And it is gonna take some kind of valiant effort for me to get it together! 

  9. I agree with Laine’s letters, but did not focus on the housekeeping.  “Work & care of her household” means much more than a clean house.  There is the extreme both ways-focusing entirely on everything being perfect or living in utter chaos (I once heard chaos described with the acronym Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome, although some who like their home to be spotless could have this syndrome so that it doesn’t get messed up).  Moderation in all things… 
    I would also venture to say that you are a little hard on yourself.  You obviously open your home to many people and they feel welcome there.  That would bring respect for your husband.  All of us have room to improve and I think it’s good to recognize each of our tendencies to either extreme and work on it  Having said all of that, I have to guard against comparing my care of our household to others and recognize that my “work & care of my household” should be uniquely fashioned according to the needs of my family-especially my husband’s.

  10. seaportmom says:

    Hey,  Has anyone ever seen this website ? http://www.prayersthread.com. What a great gift to give someone you love.

Leave a Reply

