I wonder a lot.  I wish I could get paid for that.  Think of it…a full-time wonderer.  I could get into that. 


We just drove out in the country so we could see the Northern Lights better.  So pretty!  I really wonder what causes them.  Yeah, I know that it’s supposedly the light reflecting off the polar ice cap, but why is there any light up there anyway?  I mean, it’s the middle of winter, practically the solstice.  We are tilted away from the sun, and the polar ice cap is pointed away even moreso, correct?  So why lights?  Is it perhaps the moon reflecting light onto the ice cap, which in turn reflects it into the sky?  I must reflect on this.


Hey, I could be a reflector, too.  Like work two jobs–be a reflector AND a wonderer. 


There’s something else I’ve been wondering about lately.  A few years ago, I heard the viewpoint that since there is only one God, Jesus is not God, but he is God’s son and is divine.  I was just reminded of that lately, and have been mulling it.  How exactly can he be divine but not God?  I always thought that was what divine meant!  Divine appointment = appointment arranged by God, Divine intervention = intervention by God, etc. 


So is anyone up on this view?  Any answers?  Reflections? 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to

  1. You’d make a great wonderer! 🙂
    Northern Lights?  Part of God’s amazing handywork!  Love them!
    Jesus not God?  Hmmm. The Bible says “I and my Father are one”  Jesus is God, they cannot be seperated.  God is manifested in the form of Jesus and the Holy Spirit, but they’re still all three one.  That’s always been a little confusing to me, but lately it’s more and more clear.  So that’s how there can be only one God and still be Jesus….because He IS.
    Have a blessed evening!

  2. fwren says:

    Oooooo, I am so jealous that you get to see Northern Lights!  :jealous:  That is one thing I want to see one more time before I die.  I’ve only gotten to see them once in my entire life and that was when I was a child.   Waaaaah! 
    And I think I just wonder how you wonder so much.     😆   Actually, I think there is a song that says something like, “I wonder as I wander . . . ” 
    And I agree with Berylla.  “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”  “And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us . . .”  John 1:1,14.

  3. aj1965 says:

    New words to an old song: “She’s just a wonderer! O-oh a wonderer!……..” (to the tune of “I’m just a wanderer”) ;P
    I love to wonder about God!  I think it’s healthy.  He is definitely a mystery — even the Bible refers to His mysteries.  I think wondering about the things of God keeps us in that “child-like” state that He says we must have in order to enter the Kingdom of Heaven, if we wonder properly.  I mean, I think there’s a good kind of wondering and a bad kind of wondering, you know…… like, the difference between doubt or defiant questioning vs. the pure desire to fully know someone you love. As to Jesus not being God, I don’t agree with that teaching.  There’s lots of scriptures that say that Jesus was God incarnate, is one with God, if you’ve seen Jesus, you’ve seen the Father, etc.  I know how confusing the issue is, but, that’s just because we have finite minds that are incapable of fully understanding the infinite…. but that doesn’t mean it’s not true. I think man will always try to “figure God out” in a way that is not scriptural and, frankly, just WAY OFF, simply because we can’t stand for things to be illogical to us….. and God, many times, seems illogical! I like the verse,  “Now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I shall know fully just as I also have been fully known.” I Cor. 13:12….. it helps me to accept certain things I don’t understand. I personally think there are just a lot of things we’re not going to understand about God until we’re with Him & we just have to wonder about it. It gives a whole new meaning when we say that He’s Wonder-ful, doesn’t it! Thanks for the thought provoking post!! 🙂

  4. lifesaver247 says:

    I think that I could take up that job too! Matter-of-fact I think I could me a Billionaire by now wondering why nursing school has to be so crazy hard! You getting lots of snow up that way? I wish we would over break so I actually have time to get out the snowmobiles and use it! God Bless, Liked the post… :lookaround:

  5. samcgarber says:

    Wonderful wonderful wonderworld. . .I’ve heard that thing about Jesus not being God too. . .it puzzles me how anyone could imagine otherwise. . .after all how could you set at someones right hand if you were not, in fact, that someone? (Acts 7:56)

  6. I’ve never seen the Northern Lights.  It’s on my list of things to do before I die.

  7. homefire says:

    C’mon, Sam–take the bait, bro!  Run with it!  I wanna hear more…
    I have been going over a few scriptures and though I do find a few (like that) that point to Jesus not being God, I also find many that make more sense if he is, like the ones quoted above.  I honestly can see how both sides think on this, to a point, but I’d really like to hear it from you!
    The passage fwren quoted is one that has been in my head lately–do you not think that Jesus is the Word? 

  8. Oh R, you’ve been talking to Sammie…… Don’t open that can of worms please!!!
    If Jesus is not God, He is a man, and therefore cannot be perfectly sinless. If He is not sinless, He has no power to atone for sins as a propitiatory sacrifice. I speak no Greek or Hebrew & I can’t even tell you who invented the word Trinity, but this one thing I know-Jesus is the fulness of the Godhead in bodily form! When he comes back, on his thigh is written “King of Kings and Lord of Lords!”
    Jesus is not God the Father, He is God the Son, but it results in mere technicalities….. “Before Abraham was, I AM.” That is enough for me & it was enough for the Jews as they then attempted to stone him.
    PS-Just because a different concept seems more possible or is easier to understand does not make it correct.

  9. homefire says:

    Amen to that last sentence, quesera!  That’s exactly why I think about things like this!  I want more than a feeling.  I may know something in my heart, but I like to be able to explain it, too.

  10. homefire says:

    Actually, the point I asked about was NOT whether Jesus was God, but how one could describe him as divine if he weren’t.  And just for the record, it wasn’t Sam who told me that.  I just wondered if he thought that, too!

  11. dotmarie says:

    Uhhh about the northern lights…I brought up all your same questions with a friend and ended up feeling very dumb to find out I know nothing about it……..  I was told it had to do with sun spots and stuff and to look it up in the encyclopedia because it’s really not that complicated and if I want a full explanation ask…. well take a guess who around here would know everything about northern lights and sun spots and stuff??      🙂   I still haven’t researched it but one of these days I will……….

  12. Okay, I submit…lol. Yes, I know Sam is not the only one who subscribes to the theory. Other than the candy, it would appear that divinity is typically used to reference God to a particular religion. Ie-I further submit that one cannot be divine without being God.http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/divinehttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DivineAs an unrelated topic…. why, is the argument always over Jesus & not the Holy Spirit, do you think? I have never heard anyone question His divinity..

Leave a Reply

