“If, in the name of tolerance and earthly concerns, we allow our reason and logic to shift from Jesus to reason and logic itself, we have abandoned the true God of the Bible for the lie — we have left the Logos for the anti-logos.”


That’s a quote from here that I think is so true. Not long ago, I heard of a viewpoint that seemed unbiblical to me.  When I questioned the person, the only reason given was that it “just made sense.”  The more I think about it, the more I realize that this is exactly what’s happening in so many cases.  Whenever we decide that something “makes sense” to us, we need to search the scripture and make sure that it is compatible with what the Word teaches.  One person’s “sense” can be incomprehensible to others, and often God’s ways don’t make sense at all to our finite minds. 


Isa 55:9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. aj1965 says:

    What you said makes a lot of sense……..:laugh: just being silly! But, seriously, I agree with what you said, because my family has a history of being very logical people and, due to that fact, several members simply stopped following Jesus because what He requires of us and His ways just didn’t “make sense”! Their super-logical minds cannot grasp a God who says that the wisdom of man is foolishness to God and the wisdom of God is foolishness to man!  I always question others, or even my own thoughts, that say “It just seems like the logical thing to do!” when dealing with spiritual issues. There is Someone who may not agree with our finite thinking!!

  2. Confanity says:

    The incredible thing about all this isn’t so much your admission that you happily believe things which you feel are nonsense when told to by your masters – we knew that already. The part I really have trouble getting over is the phrase “that seemed unbiblical to me.”If you admit that your own wisdom is puny and mortal and flawed, then why do you think your idea of what’s properly biblical is more accurate than anyone else’s? Why do you feel it’s necessary for things that make sense to be in conflict with religion? The shape of my religious beliefs allows me to believe in sense rather than nonsense and still be religious.How can you not understand this concept? Do you think you have a 100% perfect interpretation of a text you can’t even read? If not, then your directive “Whenever we decide that something “makes sense” to us, we need to search the scripture and make sure that it is compatible with what the Word teaches” is clearly flawed. The correct procedure upon learning something new should be to look at scripture and say, “In light of this new evidence, what new meanings am I given in the text?”I offer you a worldview that allows you both the comforts of faith and the clarity of freedom from nonsense. How can you reject that?

  3. homefire says:

    Ah, but faith is NOT about comfort!  That’s where you have made your mistake.  😉  And I have no interest in redefining God’s word in light of my own admittedly limited understanding.  I’ve certainly never claimed any greater wisdom than anyone else.  All wisdom comes from God alone, so my wisdom is completely dependent on how much I am in harmony with HIM!
    Jam 1:5 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

  4. megirl3 says:

    so the question arises: how does one differentiate between what makes sense based on logic, and what makes sense based on the wisdom which God has given?

  5. homefire says:

    There’s a difference?  All wisdom comes from God.

  6. megirl3 says:

    But you just said that logic can be unbiblical, and that’s why it has to be measured against Scripture. So… how do you differentiate between “it makes sense because of logic”, vs. “it makes sense because of the wisdom God gave me”? They can’t be the same thing, else there would be no use for James 3 to distinguish between types of wisdom. For not all wisdom is God’s wisdom.

  7. homefire says:

    Sorry.  I hadn’t looked at this post for a long time, so wasn’t seeing where you were coming from.  Pardon me for not going back through it all.  I get your point now, and I stand corrected. 
    I’d say the answer is in James 3:17.  But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy.  God’s wisdom is known by the fruits it produces.  And judging by the way my day went today :whocares: I need to be begging Him for more of HIS wisdom.

Leave a Reply

