I posted that story before I read the comments to my last post, and now I feel like I need to respond to those.  I’ll try not to multi-post every day, folks!    This post is specifically about public schools, not private schools, which I have little experience with.


Public school, which I attended for 13 years (no, I didn’t flunk–I went to kindergarten!   ) was actually a very good experience for me, so that wasn’t the reason we opted to homeschool.  Yes, the story PS Socialization was extreme, and was intended to be funny.  Evidently, it stepped on some toes– Sorry about that.  Most kids don’t go through this, at least in my experience, but there are a few in every school.  And worse than that, there are also a few who are on the other end, handing out the ridicule and abuse–an even worse place to be!


My point was that “socialization” is not all good–far from it.  And children actually get a more healthy and rounded view of society if they interact with all kinds of people in the real world, rather than only their peers in the age-segregated school environment.


To answer Confanity, I find plenty of difficulties, differences, and ‘people I’d like to avoid but can’t’ every single day–we don’t have to go to school to find them!  And I prefer to expose my children to many different worldviews in our own home, where I can help them to examine those views in light of God’s Word.  They’re going to be learning someone’s biased world view–why not ours?  There is no education apart from religion–it’s just a matter of which religion you choose to teach.  And there IS no true morality without God.


Now, if anyone is interested, more reasons that we won’t be sending our children to public school:



  1. I watched more than dozen girls I knew become lesbians, thanks to a perverted gym teacher.  Most of those women are now alienated from their friends and family.

  2. I was amazed one day as a teenager to find that my parents didn’t support abortion.  We had never discussed it at home, and everything I’d ever heard was positive.  My mother, as you may imagine, was appalled to discover this.

  3. I know at least one intelligent man whose life I believe was wrecked because he was slow to develop social skills, and the rest of us kids treated him like dirt for 13 years.

  4. Most of the extremely “popular” kids in my class are now living singularly unhappy lives, in my opinion, which proves (to me, at least!) my theory that school is not REAL!  It is an artificial environment which often produces adults who are crippled and don’t know how to live in the real world.

Granted, my class may not be typical, but it was a nice, friendly small-town school, so I’m guessing most schools won’t score a lot better. 


I’m NOT saying that a Christian can’t go to PS.  What I am saying is that you can NEVER expect to completely escape the uglier elements of it. 


Yes, HS has its shortcomings, too, but after evaluationg the pros and cons, that’s what we’ve chosen.  And I believe that every family has the responsiblity to make their own decision.


Isn’t it interesting that all this came from simply mentioning that I read a homeschooling article? 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    😆 :goodjob:Okay, I just want to state my experience.Before I started college all my already graduated PS friends were telling me how hard College was. How I should prepare for it, etc. Let me tell you that when I started College I felt like I had escaped from the Gestapo! (haha) No more nights spent up till midnight having facts drilled into ones skull [HS’s keep such odd hours… don’t they?].As far as being lacking in social skills. I can say that I do personally “despise” the general populace that holds to be within my age group (18 yrs.), for what they have shown repeatedly is 1) Ignorance. 2) Lack of respect for elders. 3) Incompetance within performing basic tasks — ergo–>”cooking, cleaning, car mechanics, managing power tools, Laundering, changing beds, basic house hold functions, teaching basic lessons[reading, mathematics, spelling, history, English], tutoring, child displine, communication skills, etc.” I basically do not choose my friends on the basis of there “age” but upon there level of maturity and understanding within basic subjects. This may explain why I have many friends in their 30’s, and one of my best friends is 56. Though I must admit my best friend is 20.Although I love homeschooling and it has my fullest support, my children will only experience homeschooling in the first years of their education. In Christ, and for the gospel of the kingdom,Lael

  2. fwren says:

    Well, this was really interesting and perhaps a bit eye-opening about our little PS.  My opinion has kinda been that “God is able” and with whatever schooling or other choices that parents make (sometimes with much, much prayer and thought), can and will bring our children into His will, despite the fact that our choices may not always have been what He intended, if we but trust Him to do so.  We are only able to make choices as best we can, then must leave the rest with Him.  He is faithful, so very faithful to our trust in Him.  I think HS can be great; I think PS can be great.  I wish we all did not feel we need to “defend” our choices and perhaps, in the process, depreciate another’s long-considered decision.  Most parents really want the very best for their children and just do the best they can with what they know and understand at the time, and with what they can afford.  The key, I think, is trusting in our Lord God to guide, direct, protect, correct us along the way.  May His Name be praised in our lives, despite our weak endeavors.

  3. samcgarber says:

    all generalizations are false :sunny:
     
    Robin and I think people get to defensive about their choice to home-school and over emphasize the negatives of the options, although, the negatives are certainly there, in their own right.  I like how you put it “HS has its shortcomings”… …“every family has the responsibility to make their own decision.” 
     
    The problem is ‘home education’ is not absolute good/evil and ‘segregated age group education’ is not absolute evil/good. 
     
    I personally think Deu 6:7 is ample right to assume the responsibility of providing a home based education for our precious little people. 
     
    I also agree that “There is no education apart from religion–it’s just a matter of which religion you choose to teach.”  (See ‘Godless; Church of Liberalism’ for a good, albeit harsh, argument in favor ‘no education apart from religion.’

  4. Confanity says:

    Hm. I’m afraid that I take serious issue with your contentions that “There is no education apart from religion” and “And there IS no true morality without God.”The first is easily disproven: math, language arts, history, science, and all the other necessary fundamentals of a comprehensive education are by their very nature “apart from” religion; anything other than the teaching of fact (or, in the case of writing, of style) is editorialization, which is in some ways inimical to education. Even teaching about religion is itself a nonreligious activity; if it were religious in nature, it would be indoctrination instead.With the second, the weasel-word “true” gives you some wiggle room. But let me ask you this: do you really mean to imply that all Buddhists, all Hindus, all pagans, even people like the Dalai Lama, are fundamentally immoral? And how far does your definition of God go? Are all Moslems intrinsically immoral simply because their image of God is different from yours? How about different sects within your religion? And furthermore, I know plenty of upright and moral secular humanists, agnostics and atheists. I don’t see how your assertion is defensible, once one has removed oneself down from the fervor in which it was made. I must say that however much I loathe moral relativism, I find it preferable to this sort of buried xenophobia.Going back to the age-segregation thought: perhaps your own recollections of grade school are different, but I recall interacting daily with adults (teachers) and other children in a range of ages, especially in secondary-level elective courses.Finally, I was horrified by the examples you chose for your list. Let’s look at them in order:-“I watched more than dozen girls I knew become lesbians, thanks to a perverted gym teacher. Most of those women are now alienated from their friends and family.”+Research shows that sexuality is a complex mixture of genetics, psychology, and one’s relationship with one’s perceptions of societally-mandated gender roles. Saying that a bad experience with a gym teacher caused people to become lesbians is like saying that Dracula became a vampire due to having eaten some very bad garlic bread at a restaurant one time. But that’s avoiding the question of why being a lesbian is bad in the first place. Torah certainly never says such a thing, and the rabbis by and large consider it a non-issue. In the broader scheme of things, which causes more harm: the idea that lesbianism is a horrible fate, or a girl kissing another girl? Seriously now. Your own reflexive reaction to an idea is irrelevant to its actual value unless you consider it thoroughly, clearly, and rationally. Let’s put it this way: far more people have died due to being murdered for their sexuality, than have even been harmed by someone else being gay.Even worse is the alienation. I place the blame for this squarely on the “friends” and “family,” who apparently decided to ‘hate the sinner.’ This is *exactly* what I was talking about when I said that religion is far more likely than public school to treat people horribly, simply for being different.-“I was amazed… that my parents didn’t support abortion. …everything I’d ever heard was positive. My mother… was appalled to discover this.”+Is this supposed to be an argument against public schooling? It sounds like a failure on your parents’ part, to me. In the reverse scenario, though, how would a homeschooled child in a family with your values be exposed to arguments in favor of abortion? And how would one be expected to make reasoned decisions without at least hearing the argument made?-“I know at least one intelligent man whose life I believe was wrecked because he was slow to develop social skills, and the rest of us kids treated him like dirt for 13 years.”+A single example proves nothing. I’m sure I can find a person with poor social skills who was homeschooled, and the issue is deadlocked. Furthermore, a man slow to develop social skills has no assurance of developing them any faster due to being homeschooled. If your argument is that homeschooling provides better socialization, and it depends on the assumption that homeschooling would have socialized him better, then it’s circular and thus fails. Furthermore, if “us” includes yourself, why did your parents not teach you to treat him well? You should have known better by the time you even entered school. (Sadly, your attitude toward lesbianism seems to imply that they taught you the opposite of being kind to people who are different.) In this case, homeschooling might have left you *less* empathetic, due to not having seen the example of this man’s experiences.-“Most of the extremely “popular” kids in my class are now living singularly unhappy lives, in my opinion…”+I have no way of measuring the validity of your opinion in this case, which means it doesn’t really stand as solid proof, does it? Anecdotal evidence does not a firm edifice make, as they say. I agree with you that in many ways school is an artifical environment, but so is home-schooling. Anything but an exact model of the child’s adult life is bound to be artificial in that sense. That you then go and make vague, unverifiable statements about how PS “often” produces “crippled” adults simply compounds the error. The media will talk about alienation and the various social woes that afflict us, but the truth is that people are on average no less healthy and well-adjusted to their lives than people a century or more ago. It seems that your argument depends more on pessimism than fact….Which is not to say that your argument with this point is clear. Let’s assume that popularity in school doesn’t correlate at all with success or happiness later on in life. So? You have yet to demonstrate that this signifies any advantage of one form of schooling over the other. Take those same children back in time, home-school them, and then *if* they lead happier lives, you’ll have some evidence in favor of that conclusion, although still no proof. As it is, this point is just another anecdote from which you draw vague, sweeping generalizations in a tangentially-related field.”I’m NOT saying that a Christian can’t go to PS.”As if Christians were the only people who mattered. I hope that this sort of attitude isn’t what you’ll be teaching your kids.In brief, I feel that any schooling method can be helpful if done right and harmful if done wrong… but that the arguments I’ve seen here in favor of homeschooling are weak and unconvincing at best, and potentially damaging at worst. Note to Sam: How on Earth can you interpret that verse as a command to home-school your kids? Devarim 6:6 says “Take to heart *these instructions with which I charge you this day*.” Given that “these instructions” include things like kosher law and the commandment not to worship idols or images, I’d say that all of Christianity fails spectacularly to follow these verses. Moreso, Dev. 6:7 says not only “Impress them upon your children,” (which can be done whether the kids learn their math at home or at school), but it continues with “Recite them when you stay at home and when you are away, when you lie down and when you get up.” Are you applying this to general education as well? How about the following line, which says “Bind them as a sign upon your hand and let them serve as a symbol on your forehead; inscribe them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates”–? It doesn’t fly for you to take a single line, completely divorced from its context, and use it to justify your preference in a field that the Bible never discusses at all. And it doesn’t fly for you to only follow the parts that please you and ignore the rest.

  5. samcgarber says:

    Note to Confanity: It doesn’t fly for you to decide what I will do.

Leave a Reply

