Monarchs.  Beautiful butterflies or icky worms?


 


I was talking to a friend Sunday about our butterflies.  Since she was unfamiliar with the process, I was describing a monarch larva, and she said, “Oh, so it’s one of those icky worms?”  I was a bit taken aback, but a couple of listeners had made faces and nodded.   Icky worms?  I was almost indignant!  But then I realized that ten years ago I would probably have called them icky worms, too.  What changed?


 


About 5 years ago, when I was trying to interest my children in nature study, we found a strange little caterpillar on a milkweed.  We identified it as a monarch and brought it home, along with part of the milkweed for it to eat.  We watched, amused, as it ate, grew, shed its skin, and ate some more.  We watched with interest as it stuck its tail to the top of the jar and hung upside down.  We watched with amazement when it turned into a little green acorn with gold spots.  And when that green blob turned dark, then split open and a butterfly crawled out, we were enchanted!


 


How anyone can say that there is no God after watching that process is a mystery to me.  A caterpillar is reduced to a blob of green gel, then its molecules are reorganized into a gorgeous butterfly—just by chance? 


 


So back to the “icky worm” …  I have to admit that I think monarch caterpillars are extremely cute!  To me, they are like newborn babies.  Why?  Because I have a vision of what they can become!  I know where they’re going, what they’ll be changed into. 


 


Isn’t it just that way with a child of God?  We may look at a person and think, “What a hopeless mess!”  But I am so thankful that GOD can see beyond, to what we will become. 


 


Let’s try to look at each other through eyes that see beyond; let’s do our best to see others as God sees them—with promise! 



And by the way, one chrysalis has turned dark this morning, showing that the emergence of a butterfly is imminent.  I am so excited!  Just hope we don’t miss the new birth!

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Thankfully the Lord will finish the good work He has started in each of His own, the process maybe a bit messy but the end the same

  2. ShineOn1983 says:

    Thank goodness, there is hope for me after all.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oh what a beautiful story… thank you for sharing it! There is of course hope, D! There always is as long as there’s life and I believe that for us there is after death.

Leave a Reply

