I’ve been drawing house plans lately, and it always sort of amazes me how many different things you can do with the same amount of space.  There is just something so satisfying about beginning with a blank screen and ending with something that is a home for someone.


I started drawing this time because when we went out in the woods and staked out the house according to my original plan, it just didn’t fit.  There is this beautiful huge beech tree that we want in front of the house, and a couple of nice oaks that we want to leave there, and by the time we moved over to spare those, we were too close to the property line.  Since I love the planning, that wasn’t really a problem–I didn’t mind heading back to the drawing board. 


But when I tried to change the house from a long rectangle to a more square shape, there were several difficulties.  We wanted to keep the same basic arrangement, but squashing rooms one way and stretching them the other just doesn’t always work.  When you change something in one room, it changes another room, and when you fix that, it’s messed up another room, and so on. 


I just had to think that my time is a lot the same way.  There are only 24 hours in a day, and if I spend time on one thing, it takes time away from another.  If I pack too many things into my day, I have to take away from my sleep time, which is sort of like the exterior walls.  You can push them out a little bit, but there’s a limit! 


If I add some extra time (or square feet) somewhere else, it doesn’t necessarily fit the same way or work as well.  Sometimes you end up with awkward spaces that have no function in one spot, while at the same time there’s hardly room to turn around in the bedroom.  And if I have wasted time early in my day, I end up with a mad scramble to finish everything later.  Which definitely sums up my general day. 


So, for you “Life is like a box of choklits” folks, …No, life is like a house plan! 


 


PS Aha!  Today in addition to two Narnia ads, I also have one for phone psychics.  ooookay.  Definitely of major interest to me…not.  Do you suppose it picked up on the word Spirit yesterday?  hmmm.  Which reminds me, I was going to write more about that.  Ah, well, I’m out of time. 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. fwren says:

    “And if I have wasted time early in my day, I end up with a mad scramble to finish everything later.  Which definitely sums up my general day.” 
    That’s me also.  Love your music.

  2. homefire says:

    Thanks!  Me too    I’m curious to know who you are.
    And now I have ads for houseplans at the top.  That is just fascinating to me.

  3. fwren says:

    I’ll try to catch up to you at AM.  Where are the ads showing up?

  4. fwren says:

    Oh yeah, there they are.  Weird!

  5. ShineOn1983 says:

    So… the whole point is when we just give God our “houseplan”, and let him do the arranging, there are no empty spaces and nothing is too crowded. When we try to add more space or rearrange, we end up with sometimes more mess than we know how to handle.
    Btw, how does on put music on their site? I tried but couldn’t figure it out. I have jpegs on my computer but can’t get it to download.

  6. because jpegs are pics dinah! did you mean mp3’s? or mpegs?

  7. homefire says:

    Good point, Dinah.  Though I’m never quite sure HOW to let Him do the arranging.  Doesn’t seem like I can just sit back and wait for things to happen.  I usually just jump in and say, “okay, God, here’s my idea–if it’s not what You want, then change it.”  Then I try very hard not to complain when He does!    I am still just an infant when it comes to knowing God’s will, I’m afraid.

  8. ShineOn1983 says:

    Duh!! I know jpegs are pictures. Shows how scattered I am. Well, my files in windows media player say .wma after them. What do I do with that?

Leave a Reply

