Dust in the Wind again…  I’m not really listening to it (I think dh had that one on 8 track!! ) but if anyone wants to hear a snippet of the song, you can check the Amazon link out.


Okay, I keep forgetting that most people on here are just sprouts.  Dust in the Wind is an oldie by Kansas (sorry, Jon, not the Eagles!) that I really liked in my youth.  It was very well-known, but y’all are just too young!  It has beautiful music, wistful lyrics, and nice harmonies. 


Recently I discovered that Acapella has recorded a Christianized version.  I looked at the lyrics last night and I guess they did change them a little, but it’s not much different.



Same old song,  just a drop of water in an endless sea,

All we do crumbles to the ground though we refuse to see.

Don’t hang around, nothing lasts forever but the earth and sky…
Dust in the wind, all we are is dust in the wind.

Dust in the wind, everything is dust in the wind…

Can’t remember any more words offhand.  Anyway, I was a little irritated to hear it performed as “Christian.”  Maybe I’m wrong, but I think the message is sort of hopeless and lethargic, not humble.  Like, don’t bother doin’ nuttin’, man, because nuttin’ don’t matter anyways, man!  


~~~WRONG!  We DO matter!  One soul is worth more than the whole world, right?  True, our works will crumble, but to God, we’re not just faceless and nameless, like ‘a drop of water in an endless sea.’  Also, the ‘earth and sky’ part is just plain wrong, but I do think they changed that in the “Christian” version. 


Besides that, Kansas did it better!    I like some of Acapella’s stuff, but they just can’t do that haunting guitar sound like Kansas!


IMO, Christian musicians should stick to Christian songs.  There are way too many of these jerked-over rock and country songs.  I once heard someone sing “Jesus takes your heart, your achy-breaky heart…”  Now come ON!  Get real!  That junk is not only poor music, but it’s hard for me to see it as worship!


Okay, I’m ready….you can start throwing tomatoes, now…


(ducking)

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. I said, STAND UP if you love JESUS, STAND UP, identifySTAND UP if you love JESUSSTAND UP and testify……….
    anyone recognize THAT as a remake of something else?

  2. WE are just dust in the wind from the worlds viewpoint, from the position of a unbeliever, there is NO reason to live, we are just here and then gone with nothing satisfying ever really happening. BUT for the Christian, we have a reason to live, we are not just dust in the wind. As for christians should stick to Christian songs, It sounds kinda pathetic taking a secular song and changing a few words and then praising God with it. BUT, Martin Luther took secular tunes and put good words to them and I don’t have anything against it…… I don’t have any strong views on it at this point in time…..

  3. Anonymous says:

    i agree!!!!

  4. homefire says:

    agree with what, Michelle? 

Leave a Reply

