Thought for the Day


Worry is not TRUE!

Phi 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, … if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.


And when you worry about something, it hasn’t happened yet, right?  If it hasn’t happened, then it is not true.  It’s a part of that misty unknown future that has not yet been declared to us by God Almighty.  And even if it does happen, and becomes true, He has already carefully orchestrated each event to be exactly what we need. 


“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”  (Jer 29:11 niv)  THAT is truth!! It’s on a magnet on my refrigerator, but still, how easy it is to forget.


Yes, the past couple of days I’ve been worrying.  Frantically, wildly worrying.  Beseeching God, beating at heaven’s gates–“Yes, Lord I know You have it all under control, but don’t you see??  You can’t let this happen!”  Always ready to advise, that’s me.     As if He needed MY advice!


My friend has a brain tumor.  And I worry.  “What about her family, God?  They still need her, don’t You see?  Please heal her, God…please?”  Then I realize that beyond my hurt for them, I am also feeling anxious because I know that it is only by God’s mercy that this doesn’t happen in every family.  What if it were my husband, my child, Lord?  How could I stand it?  I am torn by my pain for them, so how could I take it if it happened here?


I pray for their whole family to feel the peace and comfort of the Father, and I know that He is answering.  I also know that our Great Physician can heal in an instant, and that may be His plan.  (So why am I worrying? I should be praising Him! This is every bit as true as the “two months to live” that mere doctors have pronounced!)  I pray for the medical personnel who are involved, that they may see Jesus when they see this family.  As they hear Tamera say, “Either way, I’m a winner,” let them realize the glory of a life committed to Him.


O Yahweh, Creator of the universe, You are in charge.  I trust You for all that’s to come.  You do know what is best, I know  You do. 


O Abba (Daddy) come and hold me in Your arms and calm my anxious fears.  Help those words of truth in the last paragraph find their way to my heart.  Fill me with your peace, let it seep into every pore, every fiber of my being, until I can completely rest in You.  Thank you, Abba…


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. yeah, that is so sad… but God is always in control! Praying, michelle

  2. lifesaver247 says:

    Amen, Amen, Amen!!! We can’t be anymore right that to give everything we have to God. It is so hard for me to give up the very thought of not being in control but that is what the whole word of God teaches. We need to have a heart like this, “16 Rejoice evermore. 17 Pray without ceasing. 18 In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. 19 Quench not the Spirit. 20 Despise not prophesyings. 21 Prove all things; hold fast that which is good. 22 Abstain from all appearance of evil.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-22 With a servitude like this, and a heart of childlike faith, how can we not surrender all! May God Add His Blessings, Wayne Meador.

  3. He’s got everything under control, we can’t help things by worrying. Good post! have a great day!Ty

  4. CaliRosie says:

    Just think… where would we be, if God didn’t have control over everything that happens in our lives??

  5. Anonymous says:

    I too have been worrying over a friend with a tumor, it has spread throughout her body after its first main attack in her brain. They think she is soon going to be with the Lord, so I have been constantly praying and thinking about her present pain, and the future of her family without her. He is the healer, but He considers what we do not, i.e. it is never our plan for him to take a husband/wife, or a parent to death, and yet this is often the way he has brought those left behind closer to Himself.~L’s — thank you for your answer/comment on my site, I agree that p.3, made me go(shock face) “OH NO LORD, I think I shall never be ready to get married.”

  6. Anonymous says:

    I just realized that what I said about p.3 is sort of an inside joke… I am always saying that I think the Lord has called me to celibacy, based on the fact that I have rarely (if ever) met any one who I would even desire to marry… but then I am only 18…~L’s

Leave a Reply

