I Think, Therefore I Create

One thing that I find fascinating is to compare how words are grouped in different cultures.  There are languages which use the same word for green and blue, for instance, and many words simply don’t translate from one language to another.  In Spanish, the verb hacer means “to make” or “to do.”  I would have considered them two completely different ideas, but the same verb works for both.  We differentiate between “his” and “hers,” while in Spanish the same pronoun suffices for both.  On the other hand, the English “we” can indicate either gender, while in Spanish there are two “we” words, one for females only and one used for males or mixed company.

 

The one that struck me today was Creo.  It means “I think” or “I believe,” but it also means “I create.”  Somehow that seemed significant to me.  Sort of a variation on “I think, therefore I am.” 

I think, therefore I create. 

Because really, every worthwhile thought is a creation.  If you are only regurgitating the thoughts of another person, you aren’t truly thinking.  If you are mulling, pondering, considering, contemplating, cogitating…then your thoughts are indeed a new creation.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Think, Therefore I Create

Leave a Reply

