Broken

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit:
a broken and a contrite heart, O God,
thou wilt not despise.
Ps. 51:17  KJV

We are to bring our broken hearts and broken spirits, sacrifice them to the Lord.  He doesn’t want us to remain broken.

 When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears
    and delivers them out of all their troubles.
The Lord is near to the brokenhearted
    and saves the crushed in spirit.      Psalm 34:17-18  ESV

What I sometimes forget is that God also breaks.  He does not allow uncleanness and waywardness among His beloved people.  We are all like bones that have healed crookedly, and we need to be broken and straightened.

O God, You have rejected us. You have broken us;
You have been angry; O, restore us.
That Your beloved may be delivered,
Save with Your right hand, and answer us!       Ps 60:1, 5  NASB

And He listens.  He wants to restore us.  We give Him our brokenness, we are sorry for our sin, and He gives us wholeness.  He creates an entirely new heart, one that is turned toward Him.

Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones that you have broken rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins,
    and blot out all my iniquities.
Create in me a clean heart, O God,
    and renew a right spirit within me.   Ps 51:8-10 ESV

God breaks those things which displease Him, but when we are truly repentant, when we return to Him begging for His favor, He gives it.

 He heals the brokenhearted
    and binds up their wounds.    Ps 147:3

With those who do not see the foolishness of their ways, however, that’s not the case.

Therefore his [the wicked person’s] calamity will come suddenly;
Instantly he will be broken and there will be no healing.   Prov 6:15    NASB

No healing.  If there is no repentance, God is not going to fix it.  Praise God that He is patient.  He is always listening, waiting for us to realize that we need Him.  He is here, and He offers the perfect solution.

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; 
Isaiah 61:1  and confirmed by Jesus in Luke 4:18

He is ready and waiting to give the cure, but I must ask for it.  I must first be broken, and know that I am broken, so that I can ask for His mercy, and He will heal me.

Ultimately, it all comes down to how one responds to being broken.  If being broken leads me to repentance and sorrow for my sin, then God is faithful to bring healing.  If no repentance occurs, the end is disastrous.

And he who falls on this stone will be broken to pieces;
but on whomever it falls, it will scatter him like dust.   
Matthew 21:44 and Luke 20:18

Let me fall on You, Jesus, my Rock, the Cornerstone of all creation.
Break me, yes, but create in me a new heart, a new spirit—one that is fit to dwell with You.
Make me perfectly, completely Yours, so that I will never need to be broken again.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken

  1. Mary Sellers says:

    It’s Teacherperson! What fun to hear from you! I don’t check back at my Xanga blog, but I get notification if anyone comments. And you did! I hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

